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California  
 
Juvenile Jurisdiction 
• No statute specifies the youngest age at which a juvenile can be adjudicated delinquent. 
• Juvenile court has jurisdiction over offenses alleged to have been committed prior to a child’s 18th birthday; after 

age 18, the youth is charged in adult court (WIC 602). 
• Juvenile court can retain jurisdiction over youth until age 21, provided that the offense alleged to have been 

committed occurred before the youth turned 18. If a juvenile is committed to the California Youth Authority for 
certain offenses, the juvenile court retains jurisdiction until the offender is 25 years old (WIC 607). 

• If a youth is committed to a state hospital or public/private mental health facility for certain offenses, the court may 
retain jurisdiction until the offender’s 25th birthday, unless the court that committed that person finds that his or 
her sanity has been restored (WIC 607). 

 
Adjudication of Youth in Adult Court 
• Discretionary Judicial Waiver: The juvenile court has original jurisdiction over most juvenile cases, but in certain 

delineated cases where the child is either at least 14 years old or 16 years old at the time of the offense, the state 
may request that the juvenile court transfer jurisdiction to adult criminal court. The juvenile court must conduct a 
hearing and consider statutorily listed factors to determine whether to transfer jurisdiction (WIC 707). 

• Once an Adult, Always an Adult: California has a set procedure by which if a youth has been “found an unfit subject 
to be dealt with under the juvenile court law,” and certain criteria are met, all future charges against them will be 
automatically prosecuted in adult criminal court (WIC 707.01). 

 
Outcome Related to Extended Rehabilitation  
• The youth incarceration population decreased from almost 10,000 in the mid-1990s to 680 youth in July of 2016.  
• Prior to SB 260 (Youth Offender Parole Hearing), there was no process for authorities to review whether someone 

who was under 18 at the time of a crime had matured and earned an earlier chance at parole. Human Rights Watch 
estimates approximately 5,000 people currently in state prison will benefit from the new law. 

• Proposition 57 – eliminating automatic transfers- is predicted to decrease prison populations while rehabilitating 
juvenile and adult inmates by focusing on Evidence Based rehabilitation. The Rehabilitation act is predicted to save 
the taxpayers of California millions of dollars. 

 
Background 
• In 2003, the California Legislature reformed the Youth Authority’s parole board, adding case planning and reporting 

requirements to the counties. This change allows juvenile courts to change commitments if services are not being 
provided and to set shorter terms other than the maximum term an adult could receive for the offense (SB 459).  

• In 2004, California’s Rules of Court were amended to ensure the right to counsel at every stage of juvenile 
delinquency proceedings by clarifying that legal representation includes post-disposition advocacy (regarding 
treatment plans and modification hearings) (Rule 5.663). 

• In 2013, the Legislature created the Youth Offender Parole Hearing, which requires the board of parole hearings to 
consider the suitability of paroles for youth who were under 18 at the time of their crime and who were sentenced 
to more than 15 years in prison given diminished culpability of juveniles as compared to adults (SB 260). 

• In 2015, the State Legislature passed AB 703, which outlines minimum training requirements for juvenile defense 
attorneys and recognizes the specialization of the field of juvenile defense. The bill makes clear the role of juvenile 
defenders and their obligation to provide effective, competent, diligent, and conscientious advocacy of the client’s 
expressed interests (WIC 634.3) 
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• In 2016, the state passed legislation that extends eligibility for a youth offender parole hearing to young adults 
under the age of 23 at the time of the commission of the crime and received a lengthy sentence. The parole board 
must consider increases in the growth and maturity that has occurred since the time of initial sentencing (SB 261). 

• A 2016 bill included language that decisions regarding when a youth should be prosecuted in adult or juvenile court 
consider comprehensive information about the alleged crime as well as the youth’s environment, experiences with 
trauma, and ability to rehabilitate (SB 382).  

• Most recently, California passed Proposition 57, which:  
• Requires judges, rather than prosecutors, to determine whether juveniles charged with certain crimes 

should be tried in juvenile or adult court. 
• Established a parole consideration process for non-violent offenders, as defined by California Penal Code, 

who have served the full term for their primary criminal offense and who demonstrate that they should no 
longer be considered a current threat to public safety.  

• Gives inmates the opportunity to earn additional credits for good behavior and participation in 
rehabilitative, educational, and career training programs so they are better prepared to succeed and less 
likely to commit new crimes on the outside (Proposition 57, 2017). 

 
California’s use of Evidence Based Practices (EBP) 
• California supports the implementation and proliferation of evidence-based programs and practices (EBPs) in the 

juvenile justice system in state statute, administrative regulation and the establishment of a university-based 
resource center. The California Courts and the Board of State and Community Correction (BSCC) have a statute 
defining responsibility for advancing EBPs in state-wide standards-setting, training and public-safety grant-making. 
 

Juvenile Justice and Crime Prevention (JJCP) Program 
• Stanford Youth Solutions’ Juvenile Justice and Crime Prevention Program (JJCP) program works in partnership with 

Sacramento County Probation Department supporting the Restorative Justice Model, focusing on community 
protection, victim restoration, and offender accountability and competency. 

• Youth and families participate in 8 to 12 Functional Family Therapy sessions over the course of approximately 3 
months 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

References: 
- State Trends Legislative Victories from 2011-2013 – Removing Youth from the Adult Criminal Justice System. Campaign for Youth 

Justice (2013) 
- California – Juvenile Indigent Defense Delivery System, National Juvenile Defense Center (2017)  
- Proposition 57: The Public Safety and Rehabilitation Act of 2016 – Frequently Asked Questions, California Department of 

Corrections and rehabilitation (2017) 
- Prop 57. Criminal Sentences. Parole. Juvenile Criminal Proceedings and Sentencings. Initiative Constitutional Amendment and 

Statue, California General Election (2016) 
- Juvenile Justice and Crime Prevention Program, Stanford Youth Solutions (2017) 
- Juvenile Justice Services, Juvenile Justice Geography, Policy, Practice & Statistics (2017) 
- California Welfare and Institutions Code 602 – 707, California Legislative Information (2017) 



 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHIATRY AND BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES 

Prepared by Mara Lucia Puertolas, Fay Hartje and Eric Trupin 
Division of Public Behavioral Health and Justice Policy, Legislators and Prosecutors Conference, October 3, 2017 

Colorado 

Juvenile Jurisdiction 
• A child must be at least ten years old at the time of the alleged delinquent act (CRS 19-2-104).  
• Juvenile court has jurisdiction over offenses alleged to have been committed prior to a child’s 18thbirthday (CRS 19-

2-104).  
• When a juvenile commits an offense prior to his or her 18th birthday, “the juvenile court may retain jurisdiction over 

a juvenile until all orders have been fully complied with by such person, or any pending cases have been completed, 
or the statute of limitations applicable to any offense that may be charged has run, regardless of whether such 
person has attained the age of eighteen years, and regardless of the age of such person” (CRS 19-2-104). 

• The Youthful Offender System (YOS) houses youth between the ages of 14 and 25 years who have been convicted 
of Class 2 through Class 6 felonies committed prior to age 21 and sentenced as adults. The sentencing judge must 
recommend young adults for the YOS program after considering the youth’s age and perceived amenability for 
rehabilitation (CRS 18-1.3-407.5).  
 

Adjudication of Youth in Adult Court  
• Automatic Transfer to Adult Court: youth ages 16 and older are subject to direct file if charged with a Class 1 or Class 

2 felony, certain sexual assault offenses, and a violent felony or if the individual has a prior adjudicated felony (CRS 
19-2-517). 

• Discretionary Judicial Waiver:  youth ages 12 or 13 charged with a Class 1 or Class 2 felony or other violent crime and 
youth ages 14 and older charged with any felony are subject to transfer to adult court following a hearing (CRS 19-2-
518). 

• Once an Adult, Always an Adult: the juvenile court may transfer subsequent cases to adult court for youth who were 
already transferred or waived to adult court (CRS 19-2-517).  

• Reverse Waiver: youth charged in adult court may request a reverse-waiver hearing before a preliminary hearing 
and may be transferred back to juvenile court (CRS 19-2-518). 
 

Outcomes Related to Extended Rehabilitation  
Young adults up to age 25 held in YOS facilities are sentenced for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 7 years, 
regardless of the charge. A recent evaluation found that 90% of YOS participants successfully completed their sentence 
and only 10% were reconvicted of a violent felony and 25% were reconvicted of a felony within 2 years. 

 
Violent offenses comprised 87% of YOS admissions in FY16. A majority 
(98%) of youth admitted in FY 16 had vocational needs, 76% needed 
treatment for assault, 58% had academic needs 42% had mental health 
needs and 47% had substance abuse problems. The YOS program 
emphasizes self-discipline. Youth are taught problem solving skills and 
offered physical training, education and work programs.  
 
All YOS sentences include a mandatory 90 day period of intensive pre-
release programming and 6-12 months of community supervision.  0%
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The number of total admissions to YOS has been falling 
in the recent years (see graph). Criminal activity that 
resulted in placement in the Department of 
Corrections (DOC) adult prison system following 
completion of a YOS sentence is also low: 5% within a 
year, 20% within 3 years and 32% within 5 years.  
 
Legislative Background  
• In 2000, the Legislature called for a pre-sentence 

investigation to be conducted prior to sentencing a 
juvenile to YOS. It also allowed juvenile offenders 
to be transferred to another facility for up to 60 days for diagnostic validation of mental illness or developmental 
disabilities and specified that the court must review the offender’s sentence within 130 days after the DOC has 
determined that the offender cannot complete the YOS program (SB 140).  

• In 2008, Colorado expanded eligibility to the YOS program to youth charged with felony murder; first degree 
murder is reduced to a Class 2 felony if the defendant pleads guilty to the lesser charge (SB 66).  

• In the same year, a bill passed to allow the YOS to offer juvenile and adult treatment models for individuals with 
mental health needs and allowed youth to access services without parental consent.  

• 2009 Legislation (reenacted in 2013) expanded eligibility for sentencing for youth ages 18 to 21 who commit Class 3 
through 6 violent felony offenses to the Youthful Offender System (YOS) instead of to the adult offender population 
and created a separate facility for youthful offenders that focuses on positive development, education and skill 
building (HB 1122).  

• In 2010, the Legislature amended stature in order to remove 14 and 15 year olds from automatic transfer eligibility 
with the exception of youth who commit murder in the first degree, violent sexual offenses, and felony sexual 
offenses (HB 1413).  

• 2012 Legislation limited automatic adult transfer eligibility to juveniles ages 16 and 17 charged with violent felonies 
or sex offenses and to juveniles with previous felony adjudications. This bill also added language to allow youth to 
petition the adult court for reverse-transfer hearings whose outcome may allow them to be waived back to juvenile 
court (HB1271).  

• In 2015, Colorado provided offenders serving life without the possibility of parole as a result of adult adjudication 
the right to a resentencing hearing. This bill only refers to offenses committed by juveniles between July 1, 1990, 
and June 30, 2006 (HB 1292).  

• Also in 2015, legislation expanded rehabilitation services offered to juveniles by allowing the Executive Director (or 
designee) to transfer juveniles ages 24 or younger sentenced as adults to the DOC into and out of the Youthful 
Offender System (YOS) to improve public safety, academic achievement, rehabilitation and the development of pro-
social behavior or re-entry planning. 

References:  
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- Youthful Offender System Annual Report FY16, Colorado Department of Corrections (2016) 
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Connecticut  

Juvenile Jurisdiction  
• A child must be at least seven years old at the time of the alleged delinquent act (Conn. 46b-120). 
• Juvenile court has jurisdiction over offenses alleged to have been committed prior to a child’s 18th birthday (Conn. 

46b-120). 
• Department of Children and Family can retain custody of youth until age 20 (Conn. 46b-121). 
 
Adjudication of Youth in Adult Court 
• Automatic Transfer: youth ages 15 through 17 charged with a Class A felonies, some Class B felonies and arson 

murder are automatically sent to adult court (CGS 46b-127). 
• Discretionary Judicial Waiver: youth ages 15 and older charged with felonies not subject to automatic transfer are 

subject to prosecutorial discretion and must be presented before the juvenile court for a hearing to determine the 
appropriateness of a transfer to adult court (CGS 46b-127). 

 
Outcomes Related to Raising the Age 
In 2007, Connecticut raised the age of 
upper juvenile jurisdiction (adult criminal 
culpability) from age 16 to 18. The 
transfer of youth under age 18 from the 
adult system was fully implemented by 
2012. 
 
Fewer Arrests 
• From 2005 to 2015, overall property 

arrests decreased by 57% and 
violent crime arrests decreased by 
66%. This exceeded the national 
average significantly, which saw a 
29% reduction in property crime 
arrests and a 42% reduction in 
violent crime arrests.  

• From 2008 to 2015, arrests for youth under 18 dropped by 68% and by 67% for 18, 19 and 20 year olds.  
 
Fewer Youth Incarcerated  
• From 2005 to 2015, after 16 and 17 year olds were added to the juvenile justice system, there was a 54% reduction 

in total commitments to juvenile facilities.  
• In 2015, juvenile court handled 36% of delinquency cases non-judicially and another 39% were resolved without a 

conviction. 25% of cases resulted in a delinquency finding and only 3% of dispositions resulted in incarceration. 
• From 2005 to 2015, prison sentences for 18, 19 and 20 year olds decreased by 43%.  
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Fewer Youth in the Adult System 
• From 2005 to 2015, there was a 51% reduction in the processing of young adults in the adult criminal justice 

system. 
• In 2015, 2% of cases were transferred to adult court. Of those 57% of cases involving 18-20 year olds were disposed 

were dismissed (found “not guilty”), 29% were resolved without a conviction and only 4% of dispositions resulted in 
incarceration.  

• Between 2008 and 2015, the number of youth under 18 held in DOC facilities decreased 85%. 
• Between 2005 and 2015, the number of 18-20 year olds in DOC declined by 57%. 
• A Harvard Kennedy School Study also found that in 2015, 0.6% of the total cases would have been subject to 

automatic transfer to adult court if the age of juvenile jurisdiction had been 21 instead of 18. In addition, 18% of 
the dispositions were for felony cases, which are subject to discretionary transfers.  

 
Lower Costs 
• It was estimated that juvenile justice costs would rise by $100 million; instead costs were $137 million in 2011-12 

compared to $139 in 2001-02.  
• The state re-invested $39 million to support community-based approaches.  

 
Legislative Background 
• In 2005, provisions were put in place to automatically erase the police and court records pertaining to youth tried as 

adults upon their 21st birthday provided no subsequent felonies are acquired prior to that age (CGS 54-76o).  
• In 2007, the state ended the practice of detaining children in locked facilities for disobeying a judge’s orders on a 

status offense case, and in 2016, eliminated truancy and defiance of school rules as grounds for judicial 
intervention (PA 16-147).   

• 2015 legislative changes reduced transfer eligibility by raising the minimum age for exclusion from juvenile court 
from 14 to 15 and eliminating automatic transfers for some class B felonies and 1st degree sexual assault where the 
victim was under 13 (and the youth more than two years older), so that the prosecutor can file a petition to return 
the case to juvenile court (PA 15-183). 

• To be re-introduced in the 2018 Legislative session, Senate Bill 18 would raise the age at which youth are tried as 
adults to 21 successively over a period of three years. Youth under age 21 would be subject to no more than four 
years of incarceration in a juvenile facility. Case information would be sealed from the public and records would be 
erased four years after conviction if young adults complete their sentence. The proposal excludes extending juvenile 
jurisdiction for 15 to 21 year old youth who commit offenses such as murder, assault with a firearm and rape; this 
population would be held in a Department of Corrections facility if convicted as adults.  

 
 
 
References:  
- How States Are Leading the Charge on Criminal Justice and Second Change Policies, April 7, 2017 event, The Center for American 

Progress 
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Oregon  
Juvenile Jurisdiction 
• No minimum age of juvenile jurisdiction.  
• Juvenile court has jurisdiction over offenses alleged to have been committed prior to a child’s 18th birthday (ORS 

419C.005). 
• Juvenile court can retain jurisdiction over youth until age 25, provided that the alleged offense occurred before the 

youth turned 18 (ORS 419C.005). 
 
Adjudication of Youth in Adult Court 
• Automatic Transfer to Adult Court: youth ages 15 and older that commit an offense within a list of 21 felony crimes 

are automatically sent to adult court (ORS 137.707).  
• Discretionary Judicial Waiver: youth ages 15 and older that meet the statutorily delineated offense criteria can be 

transferred to adult court after a transfer hearing. A judge may waive a youth younger than 15 for homicide and 
certain sex offenses (ORS 419C.349). 

• Once an Adult, Always an Adult: the juvenile court may enter a subsequent order regarding future cases for youth 16 
years of age or older who were already waived to adult court (ORS 419C.364). 

 
Outcome Related to Extended Rehabilitation  

• In 2009, of the 160 young people who completed an adult sentence that started with their admission to the OYA, a 
third completed their sentence in DOC custody. 

• In Oregon, youth tried as adults are managed by juvenile 
rehabilitation facilities until age 25. 38% of youth who 
completed their sentences in adult facilities recommitted 
crimes compared to 22% of youth who served and completed 
their sentences in juvenile facilities.  

• DOC Youth in OYA facilities tend to demonstrate less 
problematic behaviors compared to the juvenile population. 
Between 2011 and 2015, DOC youth represented only 18.3% 
of behavioral incidents requiring removal from a living unit. 
OYA leadership perceives the young adults in their custody as 
mentors and role models for the younger residents.  

 
Background 

• In 1994, Ballot Measure 11 implemented mandatory minimum sentences for youth over the age of 15 who were 
automatically charged as adults. A court can impose a longer sentence but cannot reduce a sentence for good 
behavior, parole or community supervision (ORS 137.707). 

• In 1995, Senate Bill 1 established the Oregon Youth Authority (OYA) and extended the age of maximum jurisdiction 
from 21 to 25 so that mandatory minimums could be served in OYA or for a longer period prior to transfer to the 
Department of Corrections (DOC). It also provided a “Second Look” provision for youth waived into adult court (ORS 
420A.200; ORS 420A.203).  
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• In 2013, Oregon state legislation aimed at reducing recidivism was passed to include a mandate that justice-involved 
youth have a judicial review hearing to consider alternative placement before being transferred to an adult prison 
at age 25 (HB 3194). 

• In 2015, Oregon passed a Second Look law allowing the conditional release of youth tried as adults who were 
sentenced for a term of at least 24 months, and served at least one-half of their sentences. Youth request a hearing 
before a sentencing court for consideration of the individual’s progress, testimony from the District Attorney, the 
victim of the crime, the Department of Corrections, and the Oregon Youth Authority (ORS 420A.206). 

• In 2016, state legislation provides courts and prosecutors the flexibility to consider the age and maturity level of 
youthful offenders when imposing sentences for crimes committed (ORS 137.667).  

 
Outcomes Related to Oregon’s Auto-Decline Law since the mid-1990s  

• Measure 11 did not result in decreases to recidivism. Most youth indicted with a Measure 11 offense were 
eventually convicted of a non-Measure 11 offense in the adult system (44% since the mid-1990s, and 47% between 
2006 and 2008). 

• Measure 11 resulted in increased imprisonment and adult convictions: youth served longer sentences when they 
accepted plea deals instead of attending hearings (9 out of 10 young people indicted for a Measure 11 offense did 
not go to trial). 

• Only 21-23% of youth were convicted of what they were indicted for, 17% were convicted of another Measure 11 
charge with a shorter mandatory minimum sentence, and 6 out of 10 youth were convicted of non-Measure 11 
offenses in the adult system.  

• Youth of color were disproportionately sent to the adult system. Black youth are 4% of the population but constitute 
19% of Measure 11 indictments. The majority of Measure 11 indictments against black youth (70%) and Latino youth 
(61%) were for robbery or assault charges. 

• In 2010, 42.6% of youth ages 16 to 24 were unemployed.  
• Less than 6% of youth convicted of a Measure 11 offense benefitted from a Second Look review. 
 
Specific Programming for the 18-24 year old population  

• The Hope Partnership, a joint program between OYA and Janus Youth Services, provides reentry services to 
incarcerated youth between the ages of 17 to 24.  

• In Multnomah County, a parole and probation officer within the Department of Community Justice works specifically 
with young adults between the ages of 18-24 and includes intensive community supervision and specialized services 
(housing, healthcare, employment, substance abuse treatment and access to educational programs).  
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Washington 
 
Juvenile Jurisdiction 
• A child must be at least eight years old at the time of the alleged delinquent act. Children of eight and under 

twelve years of age are presumed to be incapable of committing a crime, but this presumption may be 
removed by proof of sufficient capacity to understand the act and know it was wrong (RCW 9A.04.050). 

• Juvenile court has jurisdiction over offenses alleged to have been committed prior to a child’s 18th birthday 
(RCW 13.04.011). 

• The Department of Social and Health Services can retain custody of youth until the age of 21 (RCW 
72.01.410). 

 
Adjudication of Youth in Adult Court  
• Automatic transfer to adult court was enacted in 1994 and amended in 1997. It stipulates that youth ages 16 

and 17 is statutorily transferred to adult court without a hearing if charged with crimes including: 
o A serious violent offense;  
o A violent offense and the juvenile has a criminal history consisting of a prior serious violent offense; 

two or more prior violent offenses; or three or more of any combination of a class A felony, class B 
felony, vehicular assault, manslaughter in the 2nd degree;  

o Robbery in the 1st degree, rape of a child in the 1st degree, or drive-by shooting;  
o Burglary in the 1st degree and the juvenile has a criminal history of one or more prior felony or 

misdemeanor offenses; or  
o Any violent offense and the juvenile where the juvenile is alleged to have been armed with a firearm 

(RCW 13.04.030).  
• Discretionary Decline: upon the request of the prosecutor, the respondent or the court, youth under the age 

of 16 may de declined juvenile jurisdiction and transferred to adult court following a hearing (RCW 
13.40.110). 

• Discretionary Judicial Waivers (mandatory decline): youth ages 16 and 17 can be declined juvenile 
jurisdiction and transferred to adult court following a hearing for certain crimes not enumerated under 
automatic adult jurisdiction (RCW 13.40.110). 

• Once an Adult, Always an Adult: the juvenile court will transfer subsequent cases to adult court for any 
individual under 18 who was previously convicted in adult court (RCW 13.40.020).  

 
Background by Type of Transfer 
• Between 2010 and 2014, 46.4% of juveniles were transferred to juvenile courts by auto-decline and 49.8% 

were transferred after a discretionary decline hearing.  
• The majority of young people were transferred to the adult system after discretionary decline hearings: six 

youth were 11-13 years old, five youth were 14 years-old, 32 youth were 15 years-old, and over 300 youth 
were 16 and 17 years old (385 total of 706 juveniles charged and sentenced as adults).  
 

Racial Disproportionality  
• Of all juveniles charged and sentenced in adult criminal court between 2010 and 2014, 68.5% were 

minorities (405 out of 591). Almost 31.8% were black, 30.5% were Hispanic and 26.2% were white (40.8% 
were black in 2014 alone).  
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• Almost 43% of cases involving black juvenile offenders were auto-declined, compared to 29% of Hispanics 
and 18.5% of whites.  

• Of those transferred by the juvenile court following a discretionary or mandatory hearing, 29.1% were 
Hispanic, 26.2% were black, and 31.9% were white. 
 

Crimes Committed 
• Between 2012 and 2015, 

47% of cases transferred 
to the adult system were 
for Robbery offenses. 

• Robbery 1 and Assault 2 
are the most common 
offenses for which youth 
are charged and convicted 
as adults following 
exclusive adult jurisdiction; 
Robbery 2 and Assault 2 
are the most common 
offenses following 
discretionary decline 
hearings; Burglary 1 and 
Firearm Possession are the 
most common crimes 
following mandatory 
decline hearings.   

 
Recidivism  
• The PACT (Positive Achievement Change Tool) identifies a youth’s overall level of risk to reoffend, as well as 

criminogenic needs and strengths.  
• Recidivism for eligible auto declined youth: PACT data1 shows that auto-declined youth were assessed to 

have an 84% high risk of re-offending, compared to 50% of probation involved youth who were not 
transferred.2 

• A comparison of auto declined youth to a group of 18-19 year olds who committed similar offenses3 shows 
that 28% of youth released from JRA recommitted crimes compared to 46% of youth who were released 
from DOC.   

 
Characteristics of Youth Automatically Transferred to Adult System 
• Data evaluated by the Washington State Center for Court Research shows that 447 juveniles were tried as 

adults between 2010 and 2016. 
• Juveniles subjected to exclusive adult jurisdiction serve longer prison sentences (102 months) as compared 

to those sentenced under mandatory (69 months) or discretionary decline (30 months). Between 2007 and 
                                                        

1 128 youth received a full PACT assessment analysis and 31 received a prescreen instrument (159 total). 
2 AOC analyzed a cohort of 4,633 probation-involved youth who were not transferred to the adult system. 
3 The auto-declined group of youth who committed serious offenses was compared to a control group of 18-19 year olds who committed similar offenses 
between 1/1/2010 and 6/20/2014. Gender, past criminal convictions, age of first justice involvement and county were controlled for.  

Offense Type 2012 2013 2014 2015 Total 
Murder 14 10 13 8 45 

Manslaughter  --  -- 1  -- 1 
Rape 6 6 10 2 24 

Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor 1  --  -- 1 2 
Child Molestation 1  -- 1  -- 2 

Kidnapping 3 2 3  -- 8 
Assault 37 29 14 15 95 

Robbery 79 51 55 34 219 
Arson  --  -- 1  -- 1 

Firearm Related Offenses 8 1  -- 4 13 
Burglary 10 13 15 4 42 

Theft  -- 3  --  -- 3 
Stolen Vehicle  --   -- 1  -- 1 

Stolen Property 2  --  --  -- 2 
Drugs 2 1 2  5 

Prison Riot  -- 2  --  -- 2 
Malicious Mischief 1 1  --  -- 2 

Elude Police Vehicle  --  -- 1  -- 1 
     468 
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2011, 97% of auto-decline, versus 79% of mandatory and 39% of discretionary decline sentences, received 
prison sentences. 

• Compared to probation-involved youth who were not transferred, the youth who were transferred to the 
adult system tended to be older males of color assessed with a high risk of re-offending and a prior history 
of anti-social behavior (91% male, ages 16 or older, 42% Black; 24% Latino).  

• When compared to probation-involved youth who were not transferred to the adult system, transferred 
youth were more likely to exhibit the following problems and symptoms: 

o Behavioral issues at school, history of learning disabilities, presence of antisocial friends, and gang 
membership; 

o History of running away from home/or being kicked out from home, living on streets, and 
witnessing violence in the community;  

o Past use of alcohol and drugs, and related to it disrupted education, family conflict, and 
involvement in crime. 

o Exposure to violence as victims of physical abuse and as witnesses of violence in the community. 
 
Costs 
• The DOC institutional cost annually per offender was $33,491 in FY 2015.  
• The JRA institutional cost annually per offender is $110,281 (JRA staff, 2016).  
• Evidence based programs improve youth outcomes, reduce crime and achieve favorable outcomes on 

investment. The Washington Institute for Public Policy carried out meta-analyses that identified the net cost 
savings of investing in community-based alternative 
treatments to taxpayers and crime victims. The net 
gain was defined as the “long-run benefits of crime 
reduction minus the net up-front costs of the 
program.” 

• Basic educational programming has been shown to 
reduce recidivism by 7%.  

• Administering Family Integrated Transitions (FIT) 
presents a net value of nearly $15k per youth in 
state institutions and $27k per youth on probation. 
40.6% of youth who did not participate in the 
program were re-convicted of a felony within 18 
months of release from a JRA institution.  

• A 20-40% increase in education and employment programming and drug and mental health treatment for 
adults and juveniles, along with proven prevention programs, could save Washington’s taxpayers between 
$1.9 to $2.6 billion in direct prison and criminal justice system costs. 

 
 

References: 
- A Reexamination of Youth Involvement in the Adult Criminal Justice System in Washington (Ambrose et al., 2013)  
- Washington State Juvenile Justice Annual Report, 2014   
- Juveniles Sentenced as Adults and Juvenile Decline Hearings (Jetzer, 2013)  
- Washington State Institute for Public Policy: Aos, 2004; Aos et al., 2006; Aos & Drake, 2013   
- Communication with the Washington State Center for Court Research  
- DSHS materials, Green Hill Pursuit for Change BBQ, 2017 

• Only approximately 50% of youth released 
from JR facilities receive parole aftercare 
and only qualify if they are in the top 25% of 
the highest risk population (DSHS). 
 
• There are only 111 funded “Step Down” 
Community Facility beds in the eight state 
operated facilities, which provide rigorous 
programming; counseling, transition 
services, education, vocational training and 
other evidence based interventions (DSHS). 
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