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1990 - 1999

Initiative 593 - “Three-Strikes Sentences” also known as
Persistent Offender Sentencing, was approved by the voters and

*“S | Motivation finding”
exuatviotivation finding effective 30 days later on 12/02/93.

created.

* SSOSA eligible sentencing

ranges increased from 6 to 8 * DOSA sentencing is created (Eff 7/95)
years (reflects level increases for e Initiative 159 — “Hard Time for Armed
some sex offenses) Eff 7/1/90 Crimes” was approved by the legislature.

¢ Current SV offense of 2 or more The initiative increased penalties for all

are served consecutively (was 3 offenses committed with a firearm or deadly
or more). Eff 7/1/90 weapon.

» SSOSA eligible sentencing ranges increase
from 8 to 11 years.

* Failure to Register as a Sex Offender on a class
B or C sex offense becomes an unranked class C
felony.

e Increased seriousness level of Manslaughter 1
from IX to XI.

¢ Increased Manslaughter 2 class from Cto B
and seriousness level from VI to VIII.

e “Serious Offense” subcategory created.

¢ Decline hearing must be held when juvenile 12+ committed offense with use of a deadly
weapon.

e Original exclusive jurisdiction given to superior court for 16-17 year old juveniles
committing “serious violent” or “violent” offenses with specific criminal history.
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* DOSA sentencing rules are
amended and eligibility rules are
expanded.

¢ Additional seriousness level
created in sentencing grid for
Murder 2.

¢ Expands the “Persistent Offender” sentencing option to
include “Two Strike Sex Offenders”.

* Creates new crimes related to methamphetamines.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission for juveniles is expanded.
September 14, 2018

¢ Offenses under superior court’s original exclusive jurisdiction

e Scoring rule changes for
Manslaughter, Veh Homicide-DUI,
and multiple weapon-related
offenses.

¢ 12 unranked offenses where
assigned seriousness levels.
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2000 - 2008

¢ SSOSA eligibility rules amended to allow those w/o a violent prior within last 10 years.
o Mandatory 12 months of total confinement (up from 6 months)
o Treatment length is expanded from 3 to 5 years. Not Earned Release eligible.

Three new “allegations” for select
sex offenses with children or
vulnerable victims:

o Predatory

o Victim was less than 15 years of * Failure to Register as a Sex

Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 124 S. Ct. 2531, 159 L. Ed. 2d 403, 2004 U.S. LEXIS age Offender increased to Class B felony.
4573, 72 U.S.L.W. 4546, 6 A.L.R. Fed. 2d 619, 17 Fla. L. Weekly Fed. S 430 (U.S. June 24, o Victim had diminished capacity o Criminal Mistreatment seriousness
2004) level increased from IX to XII.

These allegations, if proven, result

¢ Blakely v WA is heard by the Supreme Court and results in changes to how a finding for i d
in a statutory minimum sentence * “Most Serious Offense” to include

an exceptional sentence can be imposed.

of the high end of the range or 25 any out-of-state conviction of 10+
) ) ) years, whichever is greatest (RCW years with a finding of sexual
Non Persistent Sex Offender Sentencing under RCW 9.94A.712 is .
9.94A.540). motivation.
created.

e Amended scorine of S e * Residential DOSA Establishes the e Three new sentencing provisions
) L L] Q
A en ebr'l' statutory dru off(fnses - Bru fevels are Community Treatment court’s authority to for offenses involving Criminal Street
Accc')unta ”ty single sczrin ga ainst prior estagblished under Option s created and SHFEIDE ) Ay e Gang Activities;
ctis . . E . o : effective for the purposed of o Aggravated finding
established. violations of chapter 69.50 RCW 9.94A3.517 “sentences” imposed . .
(excludes Mfg of Meth & and 518, Effective p establishing a 0 12 months community custody for
* SRAis . o on or after 10/1/2005 “finding” for an any jail term conviction of Unlawful
o Deliver C/H w/sex or for drug offenses . . .
recodified and . . . o DOSA sentenci aggravated Possession of a Firearm 1 or 2, if the
violent priors). occurring on or sentencing ional fender | b
restructured. - after 7/2003. eligible is expanded exceptiona offender is a gang member.
* Some specific V|oI'at|ons again to include as sentence. o Increased penalties for adult
of 69.50 for the.dellvery of ¢ Earned Release eligible for DOSA Criminal Street Gang Members who
cocaine or heroin become Allowances involve a minor in a gang-related

those offenders w/o a

prior sex offense in felony.

level VIl offenses. amended.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission the last 10 years. )
September 14, 2018
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2009-2010

e Directs DOC to supervise only:
e Language clarified so that DOSA community custody shall equal one-half of the midpoint of o Offenders with high risk classification

the standard range. o Sex offenders
e Term of community custody established for unranked offenses that exceed 12 months o DMIO . - ‘
based on exceptional sentence and for which there is no established sentence range. o Offenders with an indeterminate sentence

o DOSA, SSOSA or FTOW

o All offenders requiring supervision under the Interstate Compact
o Offenders sentenced to probation by superior court and
convicted of the following misdemeanor offenses: misdemeanant
sex offenders, including those convicted of Failure to Register;

* Adds periods of community supervision or parole supervision to the maximum sentence for ~ Assault 4th or violation of Domestic Violence court order with a

e Terms of community custody are changed from ranges to specific terms: 36 months for sex
offenses, serious violent offenses, and sex offenders convicted of Failure to Register; 18
months for violent offenses; 12 months for crimes against a person, drug offense, offense
involving unlawful possession of a firearm by a gang member.

a juvenile convicted of a felony motor vehicle offense. prior conviction.

» Adds offenders with serious violent offense conviction to the list of those supervised by e Parenting Sentence « Felony DUI — definition of prior offense
DOC regardless of risk to reoffend. Alternative was created s clarified

» Modification of sentencing provisions for juveniles convicted of Taking a Motor Vehicle ¢ I?egling. and Sendingor | Adjusts scoring of prior felony and non-
Without Permission 1 or 2, Theft of a Motor Vehicle or Possession of Stolen Vehicle. Bgriimgcllnatsostgeles\fzril:ll felony domestic violent-related offenses.
. All9ws the juvenile COL.,Irt to have jurisdicFiop oye_r ajuvenile, even if the.juvenile.has. . 027 —class C, level V. * The first conviction of Failure to
previously been.the s.ub!ec'c. of adult c_ourt jurisdiction as a result of a decl.me hearing, if in 6 FaeaaasEne Register as a Sex Offender is no longer
adult court the juvenile is either acquitted of the offense charged or convicted of a lesser 015t —class B, level VI  considered a sex offense but can receive
offense. 02" —class C, level IV 1 year of community supervision.

e Allows the prosecutor and the respondent to waive the exclusive adult court jurisdiction * Viewing: « Creation of aggravating factor for
triggered by certain offenses when the juvenile is age 16 or 17 years and excludes 0 1st—class B, level IV Viewing When Paying to View Depictions
juveniles age 15 years from mandatory decline hearings. 0 2" —class C, unranked o Ve aver e IRfE e,

e Monetary thresholds for property crimes are increased.

A

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
September 14, 2018
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2011-2014

* Felony DUI - all predicate crimes for the offense must be included in the offender score which include a deferred sentence
for Negligent Driving 1, Reckless Driving, or Reckless Endangerment, when the original charge, which was pled down to a

lesser charge, was filed as a DUI, PC, equivalent ordinance, Veh Homicide, or Veh Assault.

e DOC must supervise individuals convicted of Veh Homicide, Veh Assault, felony DUl or PC regardless of risk classification.

¢ Promoting Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor is added as a gang-related offense.
¢ VVeh Homicide seriousness level increased from IX to XI.

e Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor and Promoting Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor are
added to list of offenses constituting criminal profiteering activity.
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¢ Creates a new sentencing scheme for
offenders convicted of Aggravated Murder
in the first degree under the age of 18: (1)
if under 16 years of age at the date of
offense, the offender will receive an
indeterminate sentence with a minimum
of 25 years and a maximum term of life; or
(2) if 16 or 17 years old at the time of
offense, the offender will receive an
indeterminate sentence with a minimum
of 25 years or more and a maximum term
of life.

* DOC community supervision was eliminated e Tolling of community custody while an
for those convicted of first Failure to Register  offender is confined for violating a

with a moderate/low risk level, and those with sentencing condition is eliminated.
a prior offense and convicted after 8/1/11 of
misdemeanor Assault 4 or Violation of
Domestic Violence Court Order.

¢ VVeh Assault-DUI and Veh Homicide-DUI
are considered prior offenses for felony

DUI.
* DOC must supervise those convicted after

8/1/11 of 2+ domestic violence convictions. * Once convicted of felony DUI, any

subsequent DUI becomes a felony DUL.
e Maximum terms of community custody were

reduced for offenders sentenced under the
First-Time Offender Waiver.

» Creates aggravating factor when
offense was intentionally committed due
to perceived homelessness of victim.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
September 14, 2018

* Provides for resentencing
of offenders previously
sentenced to a term of life
for an offense committed
under the age of 18.

* Allows a person
convicted of an offense
committed prior to his or
her

eighteenth birthday to
petition the Indeterminate
Sentence Review Board for
early release after serving
20 years.

» Sentences for a felony driving under the
influence or being in physical control of a
motor vehicle under the influence of
intoxicating liqguor or any drug must be
served consecutively with any sentences
imposed for circumventing an ignition
interlock device or operating a motor vehicle
without a required ignition interlock device,
both gross misdemeanor offenses.
Sentences for circumventing an ignition
interlock device or operating a motor vehicle
without a required ignition interlock device
are also served consecutively.
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2015-2018

e Elevates Assault 4 involving domestic
violence to a class C felony when defendant
has 2+ prior adult convictions in prior 10

* Felony DUI seriousness level years for certain crimes involving DV.
* Authorizes the DOC to supervise offenders up to the increased from V to IV.
length of supervision that can be imposed by a court.

¢ Felony DUI if three or more prior
offenses within ten years.

e Assault 4-DV is considered a crime against
¢ Creates the crimes of Theft froma  a person.

f-r(\)/r(;hvl-:lc;::)l(;ﬁe-Reckless seriousness level increased Vulnerable Adult 1 and 2. * Counts prior adult convictions for Assault
e Categorizes Criminal of a Child or Criminal Mistreatment

e New mitigating factor if the person has committed Mistreatment (first and second involving DV as two points when calculating

no other previous serious traffic offenses and the degree) and Theft from a Vulnerable  an offender score for sentencing pursuant

current sentence is clearly excessive. Adult as crimes against persons. to a felony DV conviction.

© 6 © o

* Requires the Department of Corrections (DOC) to supervise any

e Eliminates exclusive adult court ¢ Limits mandatory decline
offender _ _ jurisdiction for 16 and 17 year olds charged hearings to individuals charged
released by the Indeterminate Sentence Review Board (ISRB) and with Robbery in the first degree; Drive-by with Escape when the
who was _ _ _ Shooting; Burglary in the first degree with respondent is serving a
sentenced to community custody or subject to community one or more prior adjudications; and any minimum sentence to age 21.
custody under the terms of release. violent offense when the juvenile is alleged

» Creates a new offense category
called A++ that includes a range
e Limits discretionary decline hearingsto 15  of 129 weeks to 260 weeks of
year olds and older who are charged with a confinement for individuals age
serious violent felony and 14 year olds and 16 or 17 that are adjudicated of
younger who are charged with Murder in Robbery in the first degree, and
the first or second degree. Drive-by Shooting.

*Prohibits an offender convicted of Aggravated first degree to have been armed with a firearm.
Murder prior to the person's eighteenth birthday from receiving
earned early release time during the minimum term of
confinement imposed by the court.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
September 14, 2018
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*“School Zone” enhancement of 24 months for a violation of
RCW 69.50 within 1000 ft of a school or school bus stop.

. ) ] ¢ “Adult offender that uses a minor in the commission of a criminal street gang-
Enhancements will double for subsequent violations.

related felony by threat or by solicitation” enhancement shall multiply the standard
¢ “While in a county jail or state correctional facility” range by 125%. Enhancement is unavailable if prosecution seeks an exceptional
enhancement for specific violations of RCW 69.50.401 or sentence based on an aggravating factor under RCW 9.94A.535.

69.50.410. Based on class of the offenses, the enhancements

- i *“Endangerment of Another” enhancement of 12 months and 1 day for a finding of
are an additional 12, 15 or 18 months of confinement.

endangering another during the commission of Attempting to Elude a Police Vehicle.
*“School Zones” are expanded to include “other” public
areas and renamed “Protected Zones” and are eligible for a
24 month enhancement for violations of RCW 69.50.

¢ “Eluding Police Vehicle “ enhancement shall add 12 months and 1 day to standard
sentencing range.

OO Pococc®O

o [ETEREETERE 6 24l s For “Child on the Premises” enhancement of “Sexual Contact for a Fee”

each prior DUI* conviction when 24 months is created for convictions of enhancement of 24 months shall “Assaulting a Law
e AT e e 5 & comE e Manufacture of Meth or Possession of be imposed for a finding of Enforcement

of Vehicular Homicide-DUI. (*only Ephedrine or Pseudoephedrine with “sexual contact for a fee'_' on Officer/Employee”
DU’s that are not part of the intent to Manufacture Meth, while a offenses of Rape of a Child and enhancement of 12
offender score). minor is present. Child Molestation. months imposed for

finding that offense
occurred while they were

“Sexual Motivation” enhancement shall add a period of 24, 18 performing official duties.
or 12 months (based on the underlying offense class) to the

standard sentencing range for offenses committed with sexual

motivation. Qualifying “subsequent violations” for sexual

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission motivation findings will double the period of enhancement. 6
September 14, 2018

e Clarifies that firearm and deadly
weapon enhancements may not
be reduced if sentence exceeds
statutory maximum.
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2010 - 2018

Sentence enhancement Allows the DOC to release

of 12 months added for persons convicted of one or

every child under 16 in more crimes committed prior

the vehicle when driver to the person's eighteenth

is convicted of felony birthday, who were released by

DUI, Veh Assault-DUI or the ISRB, notwithstanding

Veh Homicide-DUI. mandatory sentencing

é enhancements.

“Vehicular Homicide- | '
DUI” shall be State v. Conover, 183 Wn.2d 706, 711, 355
mandat.ory, shall be “Robbery 1 — Against a P.3d 1093 (2015)
served in total Pharmacy” “Clarified” the rules that all impaired driving
confinement, and shall enhancement of 12 enhancements are mandatory, must be
run consecutively to months. served in confinement, and must be served

all other sentencing

consecutively to the person's standard
provisions.

sentence and any other impaired driving
enhancements. However, the offender may
be granted an extraordinary medical
placement.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
September 14, 2018
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All violent or serious violent
offenses, not previously
eligible for a deadly weapon
enhancement, will now be
eligible for 12 months of
additional confinement for a
finding that a weapon was used
in the commission of a current
offense

@@&

Assault of a Child 2 is
added to the list of
offenses eligible for a
deadly weapon
enhancement.

Washington Sente

1990 - 2018

Sentencing rules for current
offense with a weapon finding
were clarified.

e Mandatory

¢ Severed in total confinement.
¢ Consecutive to the standard
sentencing range for underlying
offense(s) and to other weapon
findings.

State v. Thomas; 150 Wn. 2d 666, 80 P.3d 168
(Dec. 11, 2003)

“Clarified” the rules for imposing a sentence
for multiple current offenses with at least one
Deadly Weapon/Firearm finding and clarified
that the statutory maximum of an offense
limits only that single offense, allowing
weapon enhancement to be imposed/served
consecutively to the longest underlying
sentence.

@@@@@é»@

e Both Firearm and Deadly Weapon

“l-593 Hard Time for Armed Crime” Initiative, created new and separate weapon
enhancements for firearm findings & for deadly weapon findings (See below). Based on
the class of current offenses with the finding and if it was the 15t or subsequent
offense, different periods of enhancement apply. All felony offenses (other than

firearm offenses) are eligible for a weapon finding.

Firearm Enhancement Periods

Class A firearms — 60/120 months
Class B firearms — 36/72 months
Class C firearms — 18/36 months

ncing Guidelines Commission

September 14, 2018

enhancements to include possession of a
bump-fire stock and use of a bump-fire stock.

e Creates an additional firearm enhancement
of 12 months for juveniles adjudicated for any
violent offense committed by a 16 or 17 year

Deadly Weapons Enhancement Periods old.

Class A deadly weapon — 24/48 months
Class B deadly weapon — 12/24 months
Class C deadly weapon — 6/12 months

* Creates a new 3 month enhancement for
the offenses removed from exclusive adult
court jurisdiction if the respondent's
participation was related to membership in a
criminal street gang.
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