
1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999

• “Sexual Motivation finding” 
created.

• SSOSA eligible sentencing 
ranges increased from 6 to 8 
years (reflects level increases for 
some sex offenses) Eff 7/1/90

• Current SV offense of 2 or more 
are served consecutively (was 3 
or more). Eff 7/1/90

Initiative 593 - “Three-Strikes Sentences” also known as 
Persistent Offender Sentencing, was approved by the voters and 
effective 30 days later on 12/02/93. 

• DOSA sentencing is created (Eff 7/95)

• Initiative 159 – “Hard Time for Armed 
Crimes” was approved by the legislature.  
The initiative increased penalties for all
offenses committed with a firearm or deadly 
weapon. 

• Expands the “Persistent Offender” sentencing option to 
include “Two Strike Sex Offenders”.

• Creates new crimes related to methamphetamines.

• Offenses under superior court’s original exclusive jurisdiction 
for juveniles is expanded.

• SSOSA eligible sentencing ranges increase 
from 8 to 11 years. 

• Failure to Register as a Sex Offender on a class 
B or C sex offense becomes an unranked class C 
felony. 

• Increased seriousness level of Manslaughter 1 
from IX to XI.

• Increased Manslaughter 2 class from C to B 
and seriousness level from VI to VIII.

• DOSA sentencing rules are amended 
and eligibility rules are expanded.

• Additional seriousness level created 
in sentencing grid for Murder 2.

• Scoring rule changes for 
Manslaughter, Veh Homicide-DUI, and 
multiple weapon-related offenses.

• 12 unranked offenses where assigned 
seriousness levels.
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Washington Felony Sentencing Provisions
1990 - 1999

• “Serious Offense” subcategory created.

• Decline hearing must be held when juvenile 12+ committed offense with use of a deadly 
weapon.

• Original exclusive jurisdiction given to superior court for 16-17 year old juveniles 
committing “serious violent” or “violent” offenses with specific criminal history.



2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008

• Offender 
Accountability 
Act is 
established.

• SRA is 
recodified and 
restructured.

• Drug Grid and 
Drug Levels are 
established under 
RCW 9.94A3.517 
and .518. Effective 
for drug offenses 
occurring on or 
after 7/2003.

• Earned Release 
Allowances 
amended.

• Residential DOSA 
Community Treatment 
Option is created and 
effective for 
“sentences” imposed 
on or after 10/1/2005

• DOSA sentencing 
eligible is expanded 
again to include as 
eligible for DOSA 
those offenders w/o a 
prior sex offense in 
the last 10 years.

Three new “allegations” for select 
sex offenses with children or 
vulnerable victims:
o Predatory
o Victim was less than 15 years of 
age
o Victim had diminished capacity

These allegations, if proven, result 
in a statutory minimum sentence 
of the high end of the range or 25 
years, whichever is greatest (RCW 
9.94A.540).

• Failure to Register as a Sex 
Offender increased to Class B felony.

• Criminal Mistreatment seriousness 
level increased from IX to XII.

• “Most Serious Offense” to include 
any out-of-state conviction of 10+ 
years with a finding of sexual 
motivation.
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Washington Felony Sentencing Provisions
2000 - 2008

Non Persistent Sex Offender Sentencing under RCW 9.94A.712 is 
created.

• Amended scoring of 
statutory drug offenses to 
single scoring against prior 
violations of chapter 69.50 
(excludes Mfg of Meth & 
Deliver C/H w/sex or 
violent priors).

• Some specific violations 
of 69.50 for the delivery of 
cocaine or heroin become 
level VII offenses.

• SSOSA eligibility rules amended to allow those w/o a violent prior within last 10 years.
o Mandatory 12 months of total confinement (up from 6 months)
o Treatment length is expanded from 3 to 5 years. Not Earned Release eligible. 

Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 124 S. Ct. 2531, 159 L. Ed. 2d 403, 2004 U.S. LEXIS 
4573, 72 U.S.L.W. 4546, 6 A.L.R. Fed. 2d 619, 17 Fla. L. Weekly Fed. S 430 (U.S. June 24, 
2004)
• Blakely v WA is heard by the Supreme Court and results in changes to how a finding for 
an exceptional sentence can be imposed.

Establishes the 
court’s authority to 
empanel a jury for 
the purposed of 
establishing a 
“finding” for an 
aggravated 
exceptional 
sentence.

• Three new sentencing provisions 
for offenses involving Criminal Street 
Gang Activities;
o Aggravated finding
o 12 months community custody for 
any jail term conviction of Unlawful 
Possession of a Firearm 1 or 2, if the 
offender is a gang member.
o Increased penalties for adult 
Criminal Street Gang Members who 
involve a minor in a gang-related 
felony.
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• Language clarified so that DOSA community custody shall equal one-half of the midpoint of 
the standard range.

• Term of community custody established for unranked offenses that exceed 12 months 
based on exceptional sentence and for which there is no established sentence range.

• Terms of community custody are changed from ranges to specific terms: 36 months for sex 
offenses, serious violent offenses, and sex offenders convicted of Failure to Register; 18 
months for violent offenses; 12 months for crimes against a person, drug offense, offense 
involving unlawful possession of a firearm by a gang member.

• Adds periods of community supervision or parole supervision to the maximum sentence for 
a juvenile convicted of a felony motor vehicle offense.

• Adds offenders with serious violent offense conviction to the list of those supervised by 
DOC regardless of risk to reoffend.

• Modification of sentencing provisions for juveniles convicted of Taking a Motor Vehicle 
Without Permission 1 or 2, Theft of a Motor Vehicle or Possession of Stolen Vehicle.

• Allows the juvenile court to have jurisdiction over a juvenile, even if the juvenile has 
previously been the subject of adult court jurisdiction as a result of a decline hearing, if in 
adult court the juvenile is either acquitted of the offense charged or convicted of a lesser 
offense.

• Allows the prosecutor and the respondent to waive the exclusive adult court jurisdiction 
triggered by certain offenses when the juvenile is age 16 or 17 years and excludes 
juveniles age 15 years from mandatory decline hearings.

• Monetary thresholds for property crimes are increased.

Washington Felony Sentencing Provisions
2009-2010

2010

• Parenting Sentence 
Alternative was created
• Dealing and Sending or 
Bringing into the State:

o 1st – class B, level VII
o 2nd – class C , level V

• Possession:
o 1st – class B, level VI
o 2nd – class C, level IV

• Viewing:
o 1st – class B, level IV
o 2nd – class C, unranked

• Felony DUI – definition of prior offense 
is clarified

• Adjusts scoring of prior felony and non-
felony domestic violent-related offenses.

• The first conviction of Failure to 
Register as a Sex Offender is no longer 
considered a sex offense but can receive 
1 year of community supervision.

• Creation of aggravating factor for 
Viewing When Paying to View Depictions 
of a Minor over the Internet.

• Directs DOC to supervise only:
o Offenders with high risk classification
o Sex offenders
o DMIO
o Offenders with an indeterminate sentence
o DOSA, SSOSA or FTOW
o All offenders requiring supervision under the Interstate Compact
o Offenders sentenced to probation by superior court and 

convicted of the following misdemeanor offenses: misdemeanant 
sex offenders, including those convicted of Failure to Register; 
Assault 4th or violation of Domestic Violence court order with a 
prior conviction.  
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Washington Felony Sentencing Provisions
2011-2014

• DOC community supervision was eliminated 
for those convicted of first Failure to Register 
with a moderate/low risk level, and those with 
a prior offense and convicted after 8/1/11 of 
misdemeanor Assault 4 or Violation of 
Domestic Violence Court Order.

• DOC must supervise those convicted after 
8/1/11 of 2+ domestic violence convictions.

• Maximum terms of community custody were 
reduced for offenders sentenced under the 
First-Time Offender Waiver.

• Promoting Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor is added as a gang-related offense.

• Veh Homicide seriousness level increased from IX to XI.

• Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor and Promoting Commercial Sex Abuse of a Minor are 
added to list of offenses constituting criminal profiteering activity.

• Felony DUI - all predicate crimes for the offense must be included in the offender score which include a deferred sentence 
for Negligent Driving 1, Reckless Driving, or Reckless Endangerment, when the original charge, which was pled down to a 
lesser charge, was filed as a DUI, PC, equivalent ordinance, Veh Homicide, or Veh Assault.

• DOC must supervise individuals convicted of Veh Homicide, Veh Assault, felony DUI or PC regardless of risk classification.

• Sentences for a felony driving under the 
influence or being in physical control of a 
motor vehicle under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or any drug must be 
served consecutively with any sentences 
imposed for circumventing an ignition 
interlock device or operating a motor vehicle 
without a required ignition interlock device, 
both gross misdemeanor offenses. 
Sentences for circumventing an ignition 
interlock device or operating a motor vehicle 
without a required ignition interlock device 
are also served consecutively.

• Tolling of community custody while an 
offender is confined for violating a 
sentencing condition is eliminated.

• Veh Assault-DUI and Veh Homicide-DUI 
are considered prior offenses for felony 
DUI.

• Once convicted of felony DUI, any 
subsequent DUI becomes a felony DUI.

• Creates aggravating factor when 
offense was intentionally committed due 
to perceived homelessness of victim.

• Provides for resentencing 
of offenders previously 
sentenced to a term of life 
for an offense committed 
under the age of 18.

• Allows a person 
convicted of an offense 
committed prior to his or 
her eighteenth birthday to 
petition the Indeterminate 
Sentence Review Board for 
early release after serving 
20 years.Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission

December 24, 2018

• Creates a new sentencing scheme for 
offenders convicted of Aggravated Murder 
in the first degree under the age of 18: (1) 
if under 16 years of age at the date of 
offense, the offender will receive an 
indeterminate sentence with a minimum 
of 25 years and a maximum term of life; or 
(2) if 16 or 17 years old at the time of 
offense, the offender will receive an 
indeterminate sentence with a minimum 
of 25 years or more and a maximum term 
of life.
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• Authorizes the DOC to supervise offenders up to the 
length of supervision that can be imposed by a court.

• Veh Homicide-Reckless seriousness level increased 
from VIII to XI.

•  New mitigating factor if the person has committed 
no other previous serious traffic offenses and the 
current sentence is clearly excessive.

• Elevates Assault  4 involving domestic 
violence to a class C felony when defendant 
has 2+ prior adult convictions  in prior 10 
years for certain crimes involving DV.

• Assault 4-DV is considered a crime against 
a person.

• Counts prior adult convictions for Assault 
of a Child or Criminal Mistreatment 
involving DV as two points when calculating 
an offender score for sentencing pursuant 
to a felony DV conviction.

• Limits mandatory decline 
hearings to individuals charged 
with Escape when the 
respondent is serving a 
minimum sentence to age 21.

• Creates a new offense category 
called A++ that includes a range 
of 129 weeks to 260 weeks of 
confinement for individuals age 
16 or 17 that are adjudicated of 
Robbery in the first degree, and 
Drive-by Shooting.

2015

• Requires the Department of Corrections (DOC) to supervise any 
offender released by the Indeterminate Sentence Review Board 
(ISRB) and who was sentenced to community custody or subject 
to community custody under the terms of release.

•Prohibits an offender convicted of Aggravated first degree 
Murder prior to the person's eighteenth birthday from receiving 
earned early release time during the minimum term of 
confinement imposed by the court.

2016 2017 2018

Washington Felony Sentencing Provisions
2015-2018

• Felony DUI if three or more prior 
offenses within ten years. 

• Felony DUI seriousness level 
increased from V to IV.

• Creates the crimes of Theft from a 
Vulnerable Adult 1 and 2.

• Categorizes Criminal 
Mistreatment (first and second 
degree) and Theft from a Vulnerable 
Adult as crimes against persons.

• Eliminates exclusive adult court 
jurisdiction for 16 and 17 year olds charged 
with Robbery in the first degree; Drive-by 
Shooting; Burglary in the first degree with 
one or more prior adjudications; and any 
violent offense when the juvenile is alleged 
to have been armed with a firearm.

• Limits discretionary decline hearings to 15 
year olds and older who are charged with a 
serious violent felony and 14 year olds and 
younger who are charged with Murder in 
the first or second degree.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
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Washington Felony Sentencing Enhancements
1989 - 2009

1989

•“School Zone” enhancement of 24 months for a violation of 
RCW 69.50 within 1000 ft of a school or school bus stop. 
Enhancements will double for subsequent violations. 

• “While in a county jail or state correctional facility” 
enhancement for specific violations of RCW 69.50.401 or 
69.50.410. Based on class of the offenses, the enhancements 
are an additional 12, 15 or 18 months of confinement.

•“School Zones” are expanded to include “other” public 
areas and renamed “Protected Zones” and are eligible for a 
24 month enhancement for violations of RCW 69.50.

• Enhancement of 24 months for 
each prior DUI* conviction when 
the current offense is a conviction 
of Vehicular Homicide-DUI. (*only 
DUI’s that are not part of the 
offender score).

• Clarifies that firearm and deadly 
weapon enhancements may not 
be reduced if sentence exceeds 
statutory maximum.

1999
2000

“Child on the Premises” enhancement of 
24 months is created for convictions of 
Manufacture of Meth or Possession of 
Ephedrine or Pseudoephedrine with 
intent to Manufacture Meth, while a 
minor is present.

20052004200320022001

“Sexual Motivation” enhancement shall add a period of 24, 18 
or 12 months (based on the underlying offense class) to the 
standard sentencing range for offenses committed with sexual 
motivation. Qualifying “subsequent violations” for sexual 
motivation findings will double the period of enhancement.

2007 2008 2009

“Sexual Contact for a Fee”
enhancement of 24 months shall 
be imposed for a finding of 
“sexual contact for a fee” on 
offenses of Rape of a Child and 
Child Molestation. 

• “Adult offender that uses a minor in the commission of a criminal street gang-
related felony by threat or by solicitation” enhancement shall multiply the standard 
range by 125%. Enhancement is unavailable if prosecution seeks an exceptional 
sentence based on an aggravating factor under RCW 9.94A.535.

•“Endangerment of Another” enhancement of 12 months and 1 day for a finding of 
endangering another during the commission of Attempting to Elude a Police Vehicle.

• “Eluding Police Vehicle “ enhancement shall add 12 months and 1 day to standard 
sentencing range.

“Assaulting a Law 
Enforcement 
Officer/Employee” 
enhancement of 12 
months imposed for 
finding that offense 
occurred while they were 
performing official duties.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
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Washington Felony Sentencing Enhancements
2010 - 2018

2010 20122011 2013 2014 2015 2016 20182017

“Vehicular Homicide-
DUI” shall be 
mandatory, shall be 
served in total 
confinement, and shall 
run consecutively to 
all other sentencing 
provisions.

Sentence enhancement 
of 12 months added for 
every child under 16 in 
the vehicle when driver 
is convicted of felony 
DUI, Veh Assault-DUI or 
Veh Homicide-DUI.

“Robbery 1 – Against a 
Pharmacy”
enhancement of 12 
months.

Allows the DOC to release 
persons convicted of one or 
more crimes committed prior 
to the person's eighteenth 
birthday, who were released by 
the ISRB, notwithstanding 
mandatory sentencing 
enhancements.

State v. Conover, 183 Wn.2d 706, 711, 355 
P.3d 1093 (2015)

“Clarified” the rules that all impaired driving 
enhancements are mandatory, must be 
served in confinement, and must be served 
consecutively to the person's standard 
sentence and any other impaired driving 
enhancements. However, the offender may 
be granted an extraordinary medical 
placement.

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
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Washington Weapon Enhancements
1990 - 2018

All violent or serious violent 
offenses, not previously 
eligible for a deadly weapon 
enhancement, will now be 
eligible for 12 months of 
additional confinement for a 
finding that a weapon was used 
in the commission of a current 
offense

Assault of a Child 2 is 
added to the list of 
offenses eligible for a 
deadly weapon 
enhancement.

“I-593 Hard Time for Armed Crime” Initiative, created new and separate weapon 
enhancements for firearm findings & for deadly weapon findings (See below). Based on 
the class of current offenses with the finding and if it was the 1st or subsequent 
offense, different periods of enhancement apply. All felony offenses (other than 
firearm offenses) are eligible for a weapon finding.  
Firearm Enhancement Periods Deadly Weapons Enhancement Periods
Class A firearms – 60/120 months Class A deadly weapon – 24/48 months
Class B firearms – 36/72 months Class B deadly weapon – 12/24 months
Class C firearms – 18/36 months Class C deadly weapon – 6/12 months

Sentencing rules for current 
offense with a weapon finding
were clarified.
• Mandatory
• Severed in total confinement.
• Consecutive to the standard  
sentencing range for underlying 
offense(s) and to other weapon 
findings.

200120001999 2002 2003
1992

• Both Firearm and Deadly Weapon 
enhancements to include possession of a 
bump-fire stock and use of a bump-fire stock.

• Creates an additional firearm enhancement 
of 12 months for juveniles adjudicated for any 
violent offense committed by a 16 or 17 year 
old.

• Creates a new 3 month enhancement for 
the offenses removed from exclusive adult 
court jurisdiction if the respondent's 
participation was related to membership in a 
criminal street gang.

2004

State v. Thomas; 150 Wn. 2d 666, 80 P.3d 168 
(Dec. 11, 2003)

“Clarified” the rules for imposing a sentence 
for multiple current offenses with at least one 
Deadly Weapon/Firearm finding and clarified 
that the statutory maximum of an offense 
limits only that single offense, allowing 
weapon enhancement to be imposed/served 
consecutively to the longest underlying 
sentence. 

Washington Sentencing Guidelines Commission
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