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 There are a few tragic cases that lead to the 
development of registration laws and 
mandates in the United States and specifically 
in the State of Washington.  These laws 
govern what we do and how we do it.  It is 
important to mention these stories to you.



 1989 St. Joseph, Minnesota
 Jacob was 11 years old 
 Was riding his bike near his home
 Last seen being grabbed by masked 

gunman.
 1994 This Federal Statute was passed 

and named for Jacob. It was the first law 
to institute a state sex offender registry.  

 In 2016 Jacob’s killer confessed to 
abducting and murdering Jacob.



 Megan Kanka
 1994 Hamilton, New Jersey
 Megan was a seven year old little girl who went for 

a bike ride and never returned
 Two time convicted sex offender Jesse 

Timmendequass living nearby admitted to luring, 
raping and murdering Megan

 May 1996 Federal Statute
 Requires all states to have community notification 

on high risk sex offenders



 The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was signed on the 25th anniversary of 
the abduction of  Adam Walsh from a shopping mall in Florida.  Adam Walsh was 
murdered 16 days after his abduction.

 The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was signed into law on July 27, 2006.  
the legislation ensures that convicted sex offenders of children will be mandated to 
update their registration information within three business days and makes failure to do 
so a felony. Legislation also:

• Establishes a national database which will incorporate the use of DNA evidence 
collection and tracking of convicted sex offenders with GPS technology.

• Establishes an offense based “Tier” system for offenders.
• Increases the mandatory minimum incarceration period of 25 years for kidnapping or 

maiming a child and 30 years for sex with a child younger than 12 or for sexually 
assaulting a child between 13 and 17 years old.

• Increases the penalties for sex trafficking of children and child prostitution.
• Widens funding to assist local law enforcement in tracking sexual exploitation of minors 

on the internet
• Creates a National Child Abuse Registry to protect Children from being adopted by 

convicted child abusers.



 The Community Protection Act was enacted in 1990 in response to two violent sex crimes that sparked 
widespread public outrage and concern throughout our state.

 First, a young woman named Diane Ballasiotes was abducted and murdered in a downtown parking 
garage by a dangerous psychopath who had walked away from his work release bed. Not long 
thereafter, a seven-year old Tacoma boy riding a bicycle through his neighborhood was abducted, 
sexually assaulted and sexually mutilated by another sex offender, who had recently been released 
from prison. This man had a long history of sexually assaulting children, and many who had dealt with 
him in prison knew it was not a matter of "if" he would attack again, only "when."

 From these two tragedies, and the accompanying public uproar, came a remarkable change in how our 
state dealt with violent sex offenders. Governor Booth Gardner convened the Governor's Task Force on 
Community Protection and appointed King County Prosecuting Attorney Norm Maleng to chair the task 
force, with the mission to overhaul our approach to sex crimes, victim support, and community 
safety. Ida Ballasiotes and Helen Harlow, the mothers of the victims in the two cases, served on the 
task force.

 In 1990, the Community Protection Act was unanimously passed into law, and it provided a type of 
protection that made Washington State the national model for addressing sexual violence and sexual 
predators. Many other states followed Washington's lead in the ensuing decade.

 The Community Protection Act increased sentences for all sex offenses, implemented sex offender 
registration and community notification requirements, and developed the nation's first civil 
commitment laws for sexually violent predators. 

 The State of Washington was the first in nation with community notification and civil commitment.

http://www.kingcounty.gov/%7E/media/Prosecutor/documents/communityprotectiontaskforce.ashx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/%7E/media/Prosecutor/documents/sentenceranges.ashx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/Prosecutor/svppage.aspx
http://www.kingcounty.gov/Prosecutor/svppage.aspx


Registration 9A.44.130
Risk level classification, notice 72.09.345
Release of information to public 4.24.550

Address verification 9A.44.135
End of duty to register 9A.44.140





 When an offender is going to release from prison 
or jail or move to your county, you may start 
receiving various forms of notifications:
◦ DOC/JRA bulletins, DSHS Bulletins, Interstate 

Compact notifications, SORNA Portal notifications 
teletypes, internal jail notifications

 You can utilize these notifications to set up a 
system for tracking these offenders to ensure that 
they comply with registration in your city or county.

 Offender has 3 business days after release date to 
register.

 We typically use Outlook calendar to set up a task 
three days out from release date 









JAIL BOOKING 
AND REPORTING 

SYSTEM
JBRS



http://www.jbrs.org/
http://www.jbrs.org/












Once the offender has released, 
they will have three business days 
to register.

 Part of the registration process is 
establishing that the offender is 
required to register and for what 
they are required to register. 



 You can verify registration requirement and 
length of time to register by looking at the 
sentencing section of the J&S.

 The sentencing timeframe will indicate the 
class of felony of the sex crime. Under the 
“Sentencing Data” section (usually 2nd page, if it 
says the Stat Max is lifetime, then it is class 
A. If 10 years, it is class B. If 5 years, it is a C. 
Twelve months is a misdemeanor.

 There will also be a portion of the J&S, usually 
an Appendix, that indicates the offender’s 
requirement and responsibility to register upon 
release.



 Gather the information needed from 
the home state to make this decision:

 Signed verification form from the defendant stating he/she understands the 
requirement to register.

 Signed registration form (most current)
 Date of conviction: _______________ Date of release from custody: ________________
 Date of release from probation (if 

available):_______________________________________
 Copy of Judgment/Disposition
 Is this conviction a lifetime registration in your state as of today’s date? Yes______ 

No______
 If not lifetime registration what is the registration expiration 

date:_____________________
 Additional comments:___________________________________________________________
 ______________________________________________________________________________
 ______________________________________________________________________________



 If the RSO is not required to register in their 
state of conviction, do the elements of the 
crime compare to a registerable offense in 
Washington?

 You will need the sentencing document, the 
PC Cert, the police report.

 You may need to consult your department’s 
Legal Advisor or Prosecutor to help you in the 
comparability.



 Verify that the address being provided is good
◦ Use CAD or USPS or any other mapping program

 Offender is fingerprinted and photographed
 DNA taken if needed
 Enter information into Offender Watch
 Have offender sign all registration documents
 Give offender a copy of registration
 Make notifications to other applicable police 

agencies and schools
 Send fingerprints and photo to Washington State 

Patrol



 The Offender Watch system itself has a full user 
manual available under the “Help” tab

 WASPC’s website has a RSO Resource Center section 
devoted to information about Offender Watch

 You can contact a Watch Systems Customer Service 
Representative with questions.  The Offender Watch 
Customer Service phone number is 985-871-8110 

 You can reach out to other law enforcement agency 
coordinators with any of your questions

 Attend the next WASPC User Group meeting/training
 Are there any specific questions about Offender 

Watch that we can answer?





 Whether you use ink or LiveScan, taking clear 
fingerprints is vital to sex offender 
registration.

 Attend any training that you can about taking 
fingerprints.  

 Elaine Hale is the trainer for the Washington 
State Patrol on fingerprinting.  Elaine can be 
reached at Elaine.Hale@wsp.wa.gov or 360-
534-2180.

mailto:Elaine.Hale@wsp.wa.gov


Recognizing the different 
fingerprint patterns so that 
you know the focal points 
needed for classification and 
identification will help you 
take the best prints possible.









 Whether you use ink or a digital fingerprint 
scanner like LiveScan, basic tips for taking good 
prints are:

 Make sure you roll the print nail to nail. The 
resulting print should be square in shape

 Control the amount of moisture and pressure 
used on the finger that you’re rolling.  Too much 
or too little is bad.

 Make sure you roll the correct finger in the 
correct box or space. Double check yourself.

 If you’re taking palm prints, apply enough 
pressure to print the center of the palm.



 If the RSO is unable to come in to your office 
to register due to medical issues, you may 
need to do an on-site registration. 

 You can purchase equipment such as ink 
pads, card holders and spoons from on-line 
vendors such as Sirchie.





Why collect DNA?  
 The Washington State Legislature passed a new law (2SHB 2713) which 

requires registered sex offenders to provide DNA samples to the Sheriff 
of the county in which they reside.  The law took effect July 24, 2015.

 Per RCW 43.43.754:
 Individuals who are required to register as sex offenders in the State of 

Washington and whose DNA is not listed on file with the Washington 
State Patrol will be asked to provide DNA.

 Per RCW 9A.44.132:
 Refusal to provide your DNA is a Gross Misdemeanor.

 WSP sends out a quarterly report of sex offenders who have not provided 
DNA. We use this report to set up OW alerts and when we contact this 
RSO either in our offices or out in the field for address verification, we 
obtain their DNA.

 Increases the likelihood of identifying perpetrators and holding them 
accountable. By taking DNA from a RSO, you may be solving a cold case!























 Once you have the swab dab one side onto 
the left collection site and then the right 
collection site

 You will know there is enough DNA when the 
site is no longer pink and starts to turn white

 Throw away the applicator into appropriate 
SHARPS container



 Close DNA collection card and insert into 
preaddressed envelope and use security seal.

 Initial and date the security seal.
 Mail the envelope to WSP Crime Lab
◦ WASHINGTONT STATE PATROL
◦ CRIME LAB FELON PROGRAM
◦ 2203 AIRPORT WAY S #250
◦ SEATTLE, WA 98134-2045

◦ Update Offender Watch to indicate that you have 
taken DNA and the date taken.





 It is helpful to develop a standardized request for 
documents form for use in these requests 

 Typically the documents needed for an assessment 
include:
◦ DOC /JRA/Juvenile Probation Scoring Tool
◦ DOC/JRA/Juvenile Probation Release
◦ Pre-Sentence Investigation
◦ Psychological Report
◦ Police Incident Report
◦ Judgment & Sentence
◦ DOC Infraction Report
◦ Certification Probable Cause:
◦ Polygraph Reports 
◦ Treatment Reports 
◦ Sexual Deviancy Reports



Pursuant to Washington State law, RCW 4.24.550, the King County Sheriff’s Office is requesting documents and 
information on the individual listed below for the express purpose of classifying sex offenders. Release is 
authorized under RCW 10.97.050 and RCW 13.40.217 for juveniles.
Information obtained shall be treated confidentially and secured at our office in the Registered Offender’s file.  This 
documentation is needed to help us comply with State mandated requirements to evaluate and determine the level 
of risk that the offender poses to the community.
Please e-mail/fax/mail the following file material.  If you are unable to send the material, please notify this 
office.  
DEFENDANT INFORMATION:
Name:  DOB:
DOC #: Case #: 
DOCUMENTS REQUESTED:

DOC Release: Pre-Sentence Investigation:

Psychological Report: Incident Reports:

Judgment and Sentence: Infraction Reports:

Cert. of Probable Cause: Polygraph Reports:

Treatment Reports:



 Internet 
 Court web sites
 Police Department web sites
 Other states sex offender registry sites
 Jail Booking and Reporting System – Justiceexchange.com
 Secure Access Washington/FORS  (Washington State DOC information) – Secureaccess.wa.gov
 Your own internal county court systems
 Your own internal county jail booking system
 The Triple I Criminal History Report
 Vinelink.com
 Accurint (financial information)
 Washington State Judicial Information System – www.courts.wa.gov
 LinX Northwest-search RMS data using numerous search methods
 Department of Corrections Law Enforcement Notification Program – 360-725-8694.
 Washington State Patrol – (360)534-2000
 DOC Headquarters – (360)725-8669; rrgisler@doc1.wa.gov
 National Sex Offender Public Registry – www.nsopw.org
 WASPC Sex Offender Resource Center- www.waspc.org
 Originating Agency Identifier Look Up Table 

https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/files/NACJD/ORIs/STATESoris.html

http://www.courts.wa.gov/
http://www.waspc.org/
https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/files/NACJD/ORIs/STATESoris.html


 Check with County first to see if they have file 
material

 Know which scoring tool you will be using
◦ Adult offender = Static 99
◦ Juvenile offender = WSSORLC

 Run a Triple I criminal history
 Determine which convictions you will be requesting 

file material for; i.e. anything potentially sexually 
motivated even if it’s not a sex crime

 Determine which agencies you will be requesting 
from
◦ Look for ORI/cause number or police case number on the 

Triple I
◦ Typically start with DOC/JRA or Juvenile Probation
◦ Request Court documents using cause number



 Requesting psychological and treatment 
documents may necessitate reaching out to 
treatment providers and or the offender.  
Know the treatment providers in your area.
◦ You may need to have the offender sign a medical 

release, if they are willing, in order to access those 
types of documents.  
◦ Have a departmentally approved standardized 

release form



 Often the best source of information are 
other LE RSO Units and coordinators.

 Because sex offenders can move around so 
much, it is crucial to be in constant contact 
with each other

 Keep good contact/phone directory of the 
various agencies that you’ve contacted.  WSP 
and WASPC both send out phone lists.

 It is important to be helpful and willing to 
share information and file material with other 
agencies



Agency Contact Information How Can They Help You

Department of Corrections doceosr@doc1.wa.gov
Law Enforcement Notification 
Program (360) 725-8672

DOC can explain information you 
see in FORS such as movement 
history and custody dates.
You can request probation file 
material.

Juvenile Rehabilitation 
Administration

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/ra/juve
nile-rehabilitation

Several offices broken down by 
Region

You can request parole file 
material.
You can inquire about who is 
Parole Counselor  and other info 
on parole status like custody 
dates etc.

Immigration and Customs 
Enforcement

206.835.0073
206.277.7393
Agent Virgil Wallace
DOC Liaison 253.207.4707
vlwallace@doc1.wa.gov

Has offender been deported or is 
he in ICE custody?

Your Local Police and Sheriffs 
Offices

They all usually have web sites You can request police reports 
and cases. You can inquire on 
status of their contact with an 
offender and any ongoing 
investigations involving offender.

Child Protective Services https://www.dshs.wa.gov/ca/pare
nt-resources/child-protective-
services

They will usually contact you

They may have info on an 
offender committing a new 
offense. They may have info on a 
non compliant offender’s new 
location.

mailto:doceosr@doc1.wa.gov
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/ra/juvenile-rehabilitation
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/ca/parent-resources/child-protective-services


Agency Contact Information How Can They Help You

Washington State Patrol Sorsubmissions@wsp.wa.gov
HQ: 360.596.4000
Records:  360.534.2000

Registration updates and corrections.
Criminal History updates and 
corrections.
Request file material

WASPC Waspc.org
360.486.2380

Best practices and procedures.
Can request old Police Reports.
RSO Grant issues and questions.
RSO Resource Center on web site

Local Homeless Missions or Rehab 
Centers

Keep a list They can provide updated location 
of offender.

State Hospital Western State Hospital
253-756-2652
Paula van Pul, Ph.D.
(secure email)
Eastern State Hospital
509-565-4000

In custody status. 
Release dates.

School Security Offices Schools have web sites.
Contact Campus  Security or 
Principal’s Office

Verify attendance of offender. 
May have updated address on 
non-compliant offender.
They are your contact for making 
school notification of an offender 
attending the school.

Prosecuting Attorney’s Office Know who your local prosecutor’s 
are and their contact information.
Get access to and know how to 
use the prosecutor’s/court 
databases.

Request court documents.
Get information such as court 
dates; status of ongoing criminal 
cases.
Coordinate on FTR filings.

mailto:Sorsubmissions@wsp.wa.gov


Agency Contact Information How Can They Help You

Treatment Coordinators www.doh.wa.gov With the offender’s signed 
release, you can request 
Psychological Evaluation reports, 
Polygraphs, treatment reports etc.

US Marshalls Service Brian Allan
Senior Inspector
Sex Offender Investigations 
Coordinator
United States Marshals Service
Western District of Washington
700 Stewart ST STE 9000
Seattle, WA 98101
(206) 718-0802 cell

Refer Failure to Register cases for 
interstate violators.

US Marshalls Service Lisa Stephenson
425.208.3102
Lisa.stephenson@usdoj.gov

Request Federal Court documents.

Federal Probation Blake Gjelfle
206-428-1733
Know your local probation office.

Probation Status.
Restrictions.
Location of offender.
Request file material.





 When you’ve gathered all of your file material, 
it’s time to do a risk level assessment.

 On site risk level assessment training classes 
are available through WASPC. Check 
www.waspc.org for upcoming classes.

 WASPC website RSO Resource Center has a 
section on Risk Assessment Tools to include 
online versions of both tools, coding tools 
and training materials.

 You can also reach out to other LE agencies 
or DOC if you have questions.

http://www.waspc.org/




 STATIC 99 assessment tool is used if the 
offender was an adult and not a Kidnapping 
offender.  (The STATIC 99 is not designed for 
female offenders and non-contact offenders; 
however, ESRB is recommending its use in 
those cases to determine a risk level.)

 WSSORLC assessment tool is used if the 
offender was a juvenile at the time they 
committed the offense.





 Law Enforcement Community Notification for 
level two and level three offenders can differ 
slightly from agency to agency 

 Once you’ve established that your offender is 
a level 2 or 3, you should conduct a form of 
community notification like web site posting 
and/or community bulletins or meetings.

 Don’t forget to send scoring tool to your local 
Sheriff’s Office and they will update WSP.



 You can also create a community notification 
bulletin using Offender Watch to be mailed to 
surrounding area of where offender is 
registered
◦ If you have not set up your mailing account with 

Watch Systems yet, your representative can explain 
this process to you
◦ Joel R. Shoultz (Soon to be Jim Massicot)
◦ Account Manager
◦ Office - 985-871-8110 ext. 1017 
◦ Fax 985-871-8115









 For level 3 offenders:

 Some agencies will also arrange and conduct 
Community Safety Awareness meetings for 
high risk or SVP offenders or by request.





 Per RCW 9A.44.135, law enforcement is 
required to make reasonable attempts to 
verify an offender’s address.  The frequency 
of the address verification contacts is based 
on the risk level of the offender:

◦ Unrated, Level 1 and Kidnapping offenders are 
verified at the minimum every 12 months
◦ Level 2 offenders are verified every 6 months
◦ Level 3 offenders are verified every 3 months



 You can utilize the ‘Manage Offenders’ feature in Offender Watch to 
search and schedule address verification contacts.  You can search 
offenders due in a date range and print reports for each offender or 
export the list.

 There is a report in Offender Watch that can be used for address 
verifications.  It is called “Registered Sex Offender Verification Request 
(WA)”. This form can be printed and taken out in the field for the RSO to 
update and sign. 

 The form has an alert section where information about warrants, officer 
safety concerns etc. can be conveyed through Offender Watch to officers 
in the field.

 Once the address verification is completed, update Offender Watch with 
the date of contact.  This is done in the Edit Verification area of the 
system.

 A face-to-face address verification is the opportunity to gather update 
information.  You can get new pictures; check in with the offender on 
new vehicles, phone numbers, employment information etc. 







 Tips can be a valuable source of information 
about your sex offenders.

 Tips come in a variety of ways: Phone calls and 
emails from citizens, emails coming in via our 
website, SORNA hits, info from other agencies 
such as CPS, APS and other law enforcement 
agencies.

 Carefully review the tip and/or listen carefully to 
the details provided by the tipster. 

 Review the offender’s registration information 
and status.

 Establish which agency has jurisdiction over the 
offender or will be impacted by the tip.



 Reach out to that agency or unit and coordinate with 
them.  Does the offender have a warrant?  Should 
they now be considered non-compliant?  Should a 
police report be made if a crime has been committed? 
Is your offender in custody on new sex crime 
charges?

 Completely document the information in OW under 
the “Tips” tab to include the details provided by the 
tipster, their contact information, and what you did 
with the information.

 Initiate Failure to register case if necessary.
 If the tip requires you to track case progression or 

future action, set up an action item for yourself in 
Outlook or another task tracking system.



 If the offender does not come in to register within three 
business days after release, you can:

 Contact prison/jail to ensure that he did actually release 
on ERD.

 Check Offender Watch or National Sex Offender 
database and/or Triple I to see if RSO registered in 
another jurisdiction.

 Check JBRS or local jail to see if offender may have been 
arrested.

 Contact probation/parole officer if applicable and verify 
if offender has checked in with them. If so, try to 
coordinate with CCO to contact the offender or have 
CCO contact the offender to get them in to register.



 Contact offender directly to reiterate their 
responsibility to register and work with them to 
get them into compliance.

 Utilize systems like ACCURINT, VINE, LYNX, 
DAPS, Parcel Viewer etc. to obtain possible 
address information of offender.

 If all else fails and offender is refusing to comply
 Import record from DOC into OW and show RSO 

as non compliant and Status to Active Absconded
 Make notification to WSP of non compliance
 Initiate Failure to Register case



 Write the initial incident report for the 
Detective to follow up.

 Document all of your research in the narrative 
of your Incident Report.

 Indicate all of the research steps you took to 
include the dates, systems that you searched 
and outcome of the searches.

 Document the dates and outcomes of phone 
calls you made and emails that you sent.



 We will also compile some of the basic file 
material needed for a Failure to Register case 
and attach it to our case for the Detective.

1. Judgment and Sentence for the registerable sex crime. – Needed to prove that the 
RSO does have a conviction for a registerable sex crime.

2. Order of Disposition for the registerable sex crime (juvenile conviction). – Needed 
to prove that the RSO does have a conviction for the registerable sex crime.

3. All of the signed Notification Forms that you have on file. – Needed to prove that 
the RSO has been notified of his requirement to register and understand the laws 
regarding registration.

4. The most recent registration form. – Needed to show where the RSO last 
registered.

5. If it was an out of state sex crime conviction, you will need written verification 
from the home state that the sex offender is currently required to register there. –
Needed because if the RSO is required to register there = the RSO is required to 
register here.



6. If it was a Washington State conviction committed prior to 2/28/90, verification 
from DOC that his conviction and supervision dates fall within RCW criteria for 
requirement to register. – OMNI

7. Info Sheet, PC Certification or Sex Offender Release Bulletin. – DOC Bulletins have a 
summary section that clearly and concisely explains the sex crimes.  That information 
helps to add weight to explain to the court why it is important for this RSO to be in 
compliance with registration.

8. If the RSO was registered as homeless, then went non-compliant, gather any 
weekly sign-in reports that he completed in the past. – Needed to prove that he does 
know how to report and where.

9. J&S on any prior Failure to Register convictions. – Needed for penalty enhancement

10. Printout from OMNI – Needed for tolling purposes to determine that RSO is still 
required to register.

11. Printouts from DISCUS and SCOMIS on any convictions that RSO served jail time 
for, not prison time.  They won’t show on III and they may be disqualifiers that 
extend the duration of time to register.







You may be subpoenaed to testify in court 
regarding: 
 Your role as records manager or custodian of 

records.
 Your role as sex offender registration officer.
 The role you played in a Failure to Register 

case investigation.



 Once you receive the subpoena, you will be 
asked to respond by phone or email to let the 
Legal Assistant or Paralegal know that you 
received the subpoena.

 Although the date of the trial usually changes 
many times before it actually goes, you 
should make note of the date on your 
calendar and plan to be in court that day.



 Prepare for your testimony.
 The subpoena will have the cause number 

and defendant’s name on it. 
 Pull the documents that pertain to your 

involvement in the case and review them.  
 Reach out to your Prosecutor and if possible, 

arrange to meet with them to go over their 
questions for you prior to the trial date.



 Dress in proper business attire to testify.
 Carry yourself in a confident manner.
 While on the stand, sit comfortably with your 

feet together and hands in your lap.  
 Typically, you will be asked your name, title, 

where you work and for how long.
 You will also usually be asked to provide the 

court a summary of your job duties so be 
prepared in advance for that.



 Your testimony should be geared toward the jury.  
Once the question has been asked, your body 
angle and answer should be directed toward the 
jury. 

 Do not be afraid of eye contact.
 For many jurors, it is their first time on a jury and 

probably their first involvement in a registered 
sex offender matter so you are there to educate 
them about the sex offender registration and 
records management of your agency and 
sometimes about Washington State sex offender 
laws.



 Do not argue with the questioner.
 Do not display signs of hostility.
 Do not get angry or lose your temper.
 If  you are instructed not to answer a 

question or are given other instructions on 
the stand, follow them.



 Listen carefully to the questions asked of you.
 Pause before you answer the question. This 

will give your Prosecutor time to object if 
need be.

 If you don’t understand the question, ask for 
it to be repeated or rephrased.

 It’s okay to say politely that you don’t know 
the answer. OR

 If you do not remember, it is okay to say “to 
the best of my recollection…”



 Only answer the question that was asked.
 Keep your answers short and use yes and no 

if at all possible.
 Do not volunteer information and avoid 

making speeches.



 The attorney may want you to view and 
answer questions about documents on the 
stand.

 It is okay to ask to see any documents 
referred to by the questioner.

 Read the documents completely.
 If you’re not familiar with the document, it’s 

is okay to say so.





 If underlying offense is a Gross Misdemeanor 
then FTR is always a GM 

 0-364 days jail time
 No mandatory probation
 Only if Court orders probation



 First Felony Conviction is a Class C
 Unranked Felony 0-12 months jail time
 Up to 12 months supervision
 Supervised by DOC only if high risk on 

scoring tool
 Does NOT require independent registration 

BUT is a disqualifying offense



 Second Felony Conviction is a Class C
 Ranked Felony –Level 2 depending on 

criminal history 
 Low 12-14 Months
 High 43-57 Months
 36 Months community custody and DOC 

MUST Supervise
 Requires 10 year independent registration 

requirement



 Third Felony Conviction is a Class B
 Ranked Felony –Level 2 depending on 

Criminal History
 Low 14-15 months
 High 43-57 months
 36 Months community custody and DOC 

MUST Supervise
 Requires 15 year independent registration 

requirement





 Most Sheriffs Office RSO Units are Custodian of Records for all of their sex offender files
 Whether you are maintaining a hard copy file system or an electronic records 

management system, the key is to be accurate and consistent
 Hard copy file systems can be organized by a variety of things such as name, SID 

number, DOC number etc
 Our Records Management System consists the following:
◦ Bulletins
◦ Scoring Tools
◦ Follow Up notes
◦ Registrations
◦ Registration Notification Forms
◦ Community Notification
◦ Request Forms
◦ Police
◦ Court Documents
◦ Probation
◦ Psychological
◦ Crime Analysis
◦ Pictures
◦ Media
◦ Correspondence
◦ Emails
◦ Miscellaneous
◦ Homeless Weekly Check In Forms



 One of the aspects of file management is 
removing those offenders who are no longer 
required to register 

 Run a Triple I
 Ascertain what class of felony the conviction 

was to determine duration of time to register
◦ Class A felony are lifetime registration
◦ Class B felony are 15 years registration from release 

from confinement with no disqualifying offenses
◦ Class C felony and Gross Misdemeanors are 10 

years registration from release from confinement 
with no disqualifying offenses
 A disqualifying offense is any Felony or crime against a 

person



 Establish what the release date was; look in FORS, 
JBRS or your jail system

 Look for disqualifying offenses that could possibly 
extend the duration of time to register: Triple I, FORS, 
JIS, DISCUS, SCOMIS

 Date of release + number of years to register = end 
of duty to register date

 If RSO is eligible to be relieved fill out WSP Relieved of 
Duty form or draft Relieved letter

 Send form/letter to:  WSP, offender, affected agencies
 Change status in Offender Watch to Inactive –

Registration Expired
 Send teletype to all other agencies that you have 

relieved this offender



 If offender has been relieved of their duty to 
register by Court Order:

 Request a certified copy of the Order from the 
court who issued the Order

 Check for any new convictions by running a 
Triple I, checking DISCUS, SCOMIS

 If the offender has no new sex crime convictions, 
complete the WSP Relieved of Duty form

 Send the form to WSP, the offender, any affected 
police agencies

 Send a teletype to all other police agencies to 
inform them that you have relieved this offender



 Information of a deceased offender can be received via a 
police report, teletype, tip, phone call from citizen, some 
agencies get monthly lists from vital statistics etc.

 Request a certified copy of the death certificate from the 
State Vital Statistics.  
◦ Their phone number is 360-236-4314
◦ Fax request to them 360-753-4135

 You can also obtain a copy of the death certificate from 
the local county Medical Examiner’s Office

 Change the Offender Watch status to Inactive -Deceased
 Complete the Washington State Patrol’s Relieved of Duty 

form
 Send the form to WSP, any affected police agencies
 Send teletype to all police agencies to inform them that 

you have relieved this offender





Tina Keller
Tina.keller@kingcounty.gov

206-263-2122

Dallas Dusek
Dallas.dusek@kingcounty.gov

206-263-2121

mailto:Tina.keller@kingcounty.gov
mailto:Dallas.dusek@kingcounty.gov
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