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Objectives

Who are we?

Who is required to register?

How do we work with law enforcement agencies?

Question & Answer



WSP Sex/Kidnapping Offender Registry

Registry established on February 28, 1990

Sex offenses committed before, on, or after February 28, 1990, must have registered
within ten days of  July 28, 1991.

Kidnapping offenses committed before, on, or after July 27, 1997, are required to have registered
within 10 days of July 27, 1997.



WSP Sex/Kidnapping Offender Registry

WAC 446-20-500

Sex offender and kidnapping offender registration.

RCW 9A.44.130 requires any adult or juvenile residing in this state who has been found to 
have committed or has been convicted of any sex offense or kidnapping offense to register 
with the county sheriff for the county of that person's residence. The sheriff is required to 
forward the registration information to the section within five working days. The Washington 
state patrol is mandated to maintain a central registry of sex offenders and kidnapping 
offenders consistent with chapters 10.97, 10.98, and 43.43 RCW.

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.44.130
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=10.97
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.43


WSP Sex/Kidnapping Offender Registry

RCW 43.43.540

Sex offenders and kidnapping offenders--Central registry—Reimbursement to counties.

(1) The county sheriff shall forward registration information, photographs, and
fingerprints obtained pursuant to RCW 9A.44.130, including the sex offender’s risk level
classification and any notice of change of address, to the Washington state patrol within five
working days.

(2) Upon implementation of RCW 4.24.550(5)(a), the Washington state patrol shall maintain
a central registry of sex offenders and kidnapping offenders required to register under
RCW 9A.44.130 and shall adopt rules consistent with chapters 10.97, 10.98, and 43.43 RCW
as are necessary to carry out the purposes of RCW 9A.44.130, 9A.44.140, 10.01.200, 43.43.540,
46.20.187, 70.48.470, and 72.09.330. The Washington state patrol shall reimburse the counties
for the costs of processing the offender registration, including taking the offender’s fingerprints
and photograph.

$32.00 paid to sheriff’s office for each completed registration.



WSP Sex/Kidnapping Offender Registry

WSP is the point of contact at the national level



WSP Sex/Kidnapping Offender Registry

39 Counties

Approximately
21,881 offenders actively
registered to date



Who is required to register?

RCW 9A.44.130 (1) Any individual convicted of any registerable sex or kidnapping
offense or an individual who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity of
committing a sex or kidnapping offense who falls under one of the following:

• Adult – fixed residence or not.

• Juvenile – fixed residence or not.

• Student:
Student means a person who is enrolled, on a full-time or part-time basis,
in any public or private education institution.  An educational institution includes
any secondary school, trade or professional institution, or institution of higher
education.



Who is required to register?

RCW 9A.44.130 (1) Any individual convicted of any registerable sex or kidnapping
offense or an individual who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity of
committing a sex or kidnapping offense who falls under one of the following:

• Employed or carries on a vocation:
Employed or carries on a vocation means employment that is full-time or part-time
for a period of time exceeding 14 days, or a total of a minimum of 30 days during
any calendar year.  A person is employed or carries on a vocation whether the
person’s employment is financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose of
government or educational benefit.  *This includes employment for or on the
campus of a public or private institution of higher education.



Who is required to register?

RESIDENT OF WASHINGTON

Register with the county sheriff for the county of the:

• Person’s residence.

• If admitted to a public or private institution of higher education in Washington,
provide the name of the school to the sheriff’s office where the person currently resides.

• If working at or on a campus of a public or private institution of higher education in
Washington, register and provide the name of the institution to the sheriff’s office where
the person currently resides.



Who is required to register?

NOT A RESIDENT OF WASHINGTON

Register with the sheriff of the county:

• Where the place of employment or vocation is located.

• If admitted to a public or private institution of higher education in Washington, the person
must register where the school is located and provide the name of the school attending.
The person must also inform the county sheriff where he/she resides.

• If working for or on a campus of a public or private institution of higher education in
Washington, the person must register where the school is located.  The person must also
Inform the county sheriff where he/she resides.



What offenses require registration?

• Rape
• Child molestation
• Sexual misconduct with a minor
• Indecent liberties
• Sexually violate human remains
• Incest
• Sexual exploitation of a minor
• Dealing in depictions of a minor
• Sending, bring in state sexual depictions of a minor
• Communication with a minor for immoral purposes
• Voyeurism
• Custodial sexual misconduct
• Certain kidnapping offenses
• Sexual motivation felony offenses
• Any out of state or federal offenses that require registration



Livescan

Mailed Hardcards

Fingerprint Registrations



Livescan

Prints transmitted from county sheriff’s office to WSP

Two step verification processing prints



Mailed Hardcards

Staff manually enters data from fingerprint cards.



Complete Registrations

A completed registration includes a fingerprint card and photo.

• Livescan submissions
Email photo to SORLiveScanPhotos@wsp.wa.gov

Photos must be sent same-day or shortly thereafter the livescan submission is sent.  If after 7
days the photo has not been received the livescan submission will be purged and new prints will
be required along with the photo.

• Mailed Hardcards
Mail a color copy of photo with the fingerprint card

mailto:SORLiveScanPhotos@wsp.wa.gov


Change of Address Updates

• Level Updates
• Moved Out of State
• Moved Within County
• Homeless
• Incarcerated
• Fail to Register



Relief of duty to register

• 10 – 15 years depending on 
classification of sex offense

• Court Ordered Relief

• Administratively Relieved

• Deceased



Monthly Statistics

Approximately 360 fingerprint registrations processed per month

Approximately 1,200 subsequent updates processed per month
(address, levels, relieved of duty, fail to register, deceased)



Registration information available online

http://www.waspc.org/sex-offender-information

https://fortress.wa.gov/wsp/watch/

• Provides sex offender registry information for all offenders EXCEPT compliant level
1 offenders

• Free search

• Provides sex offender registry information for ALL registered offenders and
conviction criminal history

• $12.00 fee

http://www.waspc.org/sex-offender-information
https://fortress.wa.gov/wsp/watch/


WSP RAPsheet (WASIS)

Sex/Kidnapping Registration information is displayed on WSP RAPsheet

NON-CONVICTION
RAPsheet

Disseminated to
criminal justice agencies or

the subject of the record with a
record review request.

RAPsheet displays last
24 months of address

information.



WSP RAPsheet (WASIS)

Sex/Kidnapping Registration information is displayed on WSP RAPsheet

CONVICTION
RAPsheet

Disseminated to
the public.



How SOR Information Is Transmitted

Sheriff’s Office
WSP WASIS

(Washington State Identification System FBI NSOR
(National Sex Offender Registry)



Correction Notice

Submit to correct any information
on a registration, address event, etc.



SOR Annual Letter



SOR Annual Letter

Pursuant to Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 9A.44.145, the Washington State Patrol
(WSP) is required to notify each registrant of any changes to the sex and kidnapping
offender registration requirements and to notify individuals convicted of a sex offense
as a juvenile of their ability to petition the court for relief from registration as provided
in RCW 9A.44.143.

Where to find Statuses and Bills in their entirety

Public libraries and law libraries have bound RCW volumes.

RCWs are also available electronically at:  http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/ or
http://search.leg.wa.gov/. 

Additionally, the full texts of the bills are available electronically at:
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/.

If you have any questions, please contact the sheriff’s office where you are currently
registered.

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/
http://search.leg.wa.gov/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/


OffenderWatch / WASIS Interface

• Data retrieved from Offender Watch (OW) and automatically
updates WASIS electronically as SOR coordinators make
updates to OW.

• Data transfers with a 3 day delay.

• Data matching process



OffenderWatch / WASIS Interface

Test Counties:

• Thurston
• Adams
• Ferry
• Lincoln
• Pend Oreille
• Spokane
• Stevens
• Whitman

Approximately 275 updates per month:

Address Updates
Fail to Register
Level Updates
Moved Out of State
Relieved of Duty
Photo Image Updates
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Contact WSP

Washington State Patrol
Criminal History Records Section

Criminal History Support / Sex Offender Registry Unit

Mailing Address:

PO Box 42633
Olympia, WA  98504

Phone: (360) 534-2000   Option #5

Fax: (360) 534-2071

Email: crimhis@wsp.wa.gov
SORSubmissions@wsp.wa.gov

mailto:crimhis@wsp.wa.gov
mailto:SORSubmissions@wsp.wa.gov
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