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Obtaining Relief from Sex or Kidnapping
Offender Registration

How long are sex or kidnapping offenders required to
register?

This fact sheet is intended to summarize
relevant laws related to Sex and
Adult Offenders Kidnapping offenders for general

understanding. It is not intended to
Lifetime Registration. Offenders convicted in

Washington state of an offense involving forcible
compulsion (Rape 1, Rape 2 or Indecent Liberties with
Forcible Compulsion) that was committed after June 8,
2000, and offenders who have been adjudicated as sexually
violent predators under Chapter 71.09 RCW, must register
for life. They are not eligible to petition for relief from sex
offender registration. Although these offenders may not be
relieved from registration requirements, they may petition the court to be exempted from
community notification requirements after 15 consecutive years from the last date of release from
confinement if they have not been convicted of a disqualifying offense during that time.

comprehensively re-state all the duties
required of an offender for compliance
with the law. While we make every
attempt to keep these documents up to
date, please consult an attorney for the

most accurate information.

Indefinite Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class A felony sex or
kidnapping offense, or who have been convicted of two or more sex or kidnapping offenses or
required by federal, tribal or out-of-state court must register indefinitely. They may, however,
petition for relief from the duty to register after a specified period of time. Those convicted of Class
A sex and kidnapping offenses in Washington may petition the court for relief from the duty to
register after 10 consecutive years in the community with no new disqualifying offenses. Those
convicted of any sex or kidnapping offense in federal, tribal or out of state courts, may petition the
court for relief from the duty to register after 15 consecutive years in the community with no new
disqualifying offenses.

15 years of Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class B felony who do not
have one or more prior convictions for a sex or kidnapping offense, shall register for 15
consecutive years after the last date of release from confinement or the date of sentencing if there
is no further confinement, so long as they are not convicted of any new disqualifying offenses
during that time. Offenders are required to send a letter to the sheriff requesting to be relieved of
the duty to register. RCW 9A.44.141. Class B sex and kidnapping offenders may petition the court
for relief from the duty to register after 10 consecutive years in the community with no new
disqualifying offenses.

10 years of Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class C felony, or a gross
misdemeanor in violation of RCW 9.68A.090 (Communicating with a Minor for Immoral Purposes)
or RCW 9A.44.096 (Sexual Misconduct with a Minor 2), or a gross misdemeanor attempt,
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solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a Class C felony who do not have one or more prior
convictions for a sex or kidnapping offense, shall register for 10 consecutive years after the last
date of release from confinement or the date of sentencing if no further confinement, so long as
they are not convicted of any new disqualifying offenses during that time.

Who may petition for relief of sex or kidnapping registration requirements?

Washington State Adult Offenders. Offenders who were convicted as adults in Washington state
of a Class A or Class B sex or kidnapping offense who have spent ten consecutive years in the
community without being convicted of a disqualifying offense and who have not been determined to
be a sexually violent predator under Chapter 71.09 RCW, may petition the court of conviction for
relief from the duty to register.

Federal, Tribal and Out of State Adult Offenders. Offenders who were convicted as an adult in a
federal, tribal, or out of state court who have spent fifteen consecutive years in the community
without being convicted of a disqualifying offense, and who have not been determined to be a
sexually violent predator under Chapter 71.09 RCW, may petition the Superior Court in the county
where they reside for relief from the duty to register.

Juvenile Offenders

Offenders who were adjudicated or convicted as juveniles in Washington or any other court,
who have not been convicted of any new sex or kidnapping or Failure to Register offenses during
the required waiting period, and who have not been determined to be a sexually violent predator,
regardless of whether the conviction was in Washington state may petition the court for relief from
the duty to register as this does not occur automatically.

Five Years Minimum Registration. A juvenile adjudicated of a Class A sex or kidnapping offense
that was committed when they were 15 years old or older must register for a minimum of five years
after the date of adjudication.

Two Years Minimum Registration. All other juveniles adjudicated of a sex or kidnaping offense
must register for a minimum of two years after the date of adjudication.

Offenders must continue to meet register requirements until a court officially relieves the offender of the duty to register.
When may the court relieve a petitioner of the duty to register?

Adult Offenders. An adult offender may be relieved from the duty to register only if they have
been in the community the required period of time (10 or 15 consecutive years) with no new
disqualifying offenses and they show by clear and convincing evidence that they are sufficiently
rehabilitated to warrant removal from the registry.

Juvenile Offenders. A juvenile offender may be relieved from the duty to register under the
following circumstances:
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Type of offense

Time since offense

Other requirements

Class A* Sex or Kidnapping Offenses
adjudicated in Juvenile Court and
committed when the juvenile was 15
years old or older

At least 60 consecutive months have
passed since adjudication and any
term of confinement; with no new
adjudications for sex offenses,
kidnaping offenses, or Failure to
Register.

The offender must prove by a
preponderance of the evidence that
they have been sufficiently rehabilitated
to be relieved of the duty to register.

All other Sex or Kidnapping Offenses
adjudicated in Juvenile Court.

At least 24 consecutive months have
passed since adjudication and any
term of confinement; with no new
adjudications for sex offenses,
kidnapping offenses, or Failure to
Register.

The offender must prove by a
preponderance of the evidence that
they have been sufficiently rehabilitated
to be relieved of the duty to register.

*Class A refers to those offenses which have a maximum sentence of life in prison for adults. This is separate
from the Class designations of the Juvenile Sentencing Guidelines which assign each offense a letter ranking

from E to A+.

Juvenile Offender Registration

In Washington State Juvenile Sex Offender Registration length is based on the criminal offense
category designated by statute pursuant (9A.44.040 — .115). The Juvenile Sentencing Grid is not used
for determining the length of Juvenile Sex Offender Registration. Please use the Adult Criminal
Offense Category when determining the length of registration.

Below are examples:

Juvenile Sentencing Category Adult Criminal
Offense (Not Used for determining Offense Category
length of Registration) RCW 9A.44.040 - .115
Rape 1 A A
Rape 2 A- A
Rape of Child 1 A- A
Rape of Child 2 B+ A
Child Molestation 1 A- A
Child Molestation 2 B B
Indecent liberties with Forcible Compulsion B+ A

What is the burden of proof to successfully petition for relief from the duty to register?

Adult Offenders. The court may relieve an adult petitioner of the duty to register only if he or she
shows by clear and convincing evidence that they are sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant removal

from the central registry.

Juvenile Offenders. The court may relieve a juvenile petitioner if he or she shows by a
preponderance of the evidence that they are sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant removal from the

central registry.
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What factors guide the court consider when determining whether an offender is sufficiently
rehabilitated?

In determining whether the petitioner is sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant removal from the
registry, the following factors may be utilized as guidance to assist the court in making its
determination:

e The nature of the registrable offense committed including the number of victims and the
length of the offense history;

e Any subsequent criminal history;
e Petitioner’s compliance with supervision requirements;
e Length of time since the charged incident(s) occurred;

e Any input from the community corrections officers, law enforcement, or treatment
providers;

e Participation in sex offender treatment;

e Darticipation in other treatment and rehabilitative programs;

e DPetitioner’s stability in employment and housing;

e DPetitioner’s community and personal support system;

e Any risk assessments or evaluations prepared by a qualified professional;
e Any updated polygraph examinations;

e Any input from the victim;

e Any other factors the court may consider relevant.

If a person is relieved of the duty to register pursuant to this section, the relief of registration does
not constitute a certificate of rehabilitation, or the equivalent of a certificate of rehabilitation, for the
purposes of restoration of firearm possession under RCW 9.41.040.

Which court does the offender petition and who does the offender serve notice to?

The offender shall submit the petition to the court that required him or her to register. If the
offender was convicted out-of-state, or in a federal, tribal, or military court, or a foreign country, the
offender shall petition the superior court in the county where the person is registered. The
prosecuting attorney of the county shall be named and served as a respondent in the petition.

What kind of forms are available for use to petition the court?

Pattern forms for Relief from Offender Registration Requirements are located at
www.courts.wa.gov under “Forms.”

Disqualifying Offenses. What is a “disqualifying offense?”

RCW 9A.44.128(3) defines disqualifying offenses as a conviction for: any offense that is a felony; a
sex offense as defined in Chapter 9A.44 RCW; a crime against children or persons as defined in
RCW 43.43.830(7) and 9.94A.411(2)a); an offense with a domestic violence designation as provided
in RCW 10.99.020; permitting the commercial sexual abuse of a minor as defined in RCW
9.68A.103; or any violation of Chapter 9A.88 RCW (indecent exposure, prostitution related offense).

Fact Sheet: Relief From Registration 4
July 2016


http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.41.040
http://www.courts.wa.gov/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9A.44.128
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9A.44.128
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=43.43.830
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.94A.411
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=10.99.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.68A.103
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.68A.103
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9A.88

	How long are sex or kidnapping offenders required to register?
	Adult Offenders
	Lifetime Registration. Offenders convicted in Washington state of an offense involving forcible compulsion (Rape 1, Rape 2 or Indecent Liberties with Forcible Compulsion) that was committed after June 8, 2000, and offenders who have been adjudicated a...
	Who may petition for relief of sex or kidnapping registration requirements?
	Juvenile Offenders
	When may the court relieve a petitioner of the duty to register?
	Juvenile Offender Registration
	In Washington State Juvenile Sex Offender Registration length is based on the criminal offense category designated by statute pursuant (9A.44.040 – .115). The Juvenile Sentencing Grid is not used for determining the length of Juvenile Sex Offender Reg...
	Below are examples:
	What is the burden of proof to successfully petition for relief from the duty to register?
	Which court does the offender petition and who does the offender serve notice to?
	What kind of forms are available for use to petition the court?
	Disqualifying Offenses. What is a “disqualifying offense?”


<<

  /ASCII85EncodePages false

  /AllowTransparency false

  /AutoPositionEPSFiles true

  /AutoRotatePages /None

  /Binding /Left

  /CalGrayProfile (Dot Gain 20%)

  /CalRGBProfile (sRGB IEC61966-2.1)

  /CalCMYKProfile (U.S. Web Coated \050SWOP\051 v2)

  /sRGBProfile (sRGB IEC61966-2.1)

  /CannotEmbedFontPolicy /Error

  /CompatibilityLevel 1.4

  /CompressObjects /Tags

  /CompressPages true

  /ConvertImagesToIndexed true

  /PassThroughJPEGImages true

  /CreateJobTicket false

  /DefaultRenderingIntent /Default

  /DetectBlends true

  /DetectCurves 0.0000

  /ColorConversionStrategy /CMYK

  /DoThumbnails false

  /EmbedAllFonts true

  /EmbedOpenType false

  /ParseICCProfilesInComments true

  /EmbedJobOptions true

  /DSCReportingLevel 0

  /EmitDSCWarnings false

  /EndPage -1

  /ImageMemory 1048576

  /LockDistillerParams false

  /MaxSubsetPct 100

  /Optimize true

  /OPM 1

  /ParseDSCComments true

  /ParseDSCCommentsForDocInfo true

  /PreserveCopyPage true

  /PreserveDICMYKValues true

  /PreserveEPSInfo true

  /PreserveFlatness true

  /PreserveHalftoneInfo false

  /PreserveOPIComments true

  /PreserveOverprintSettings true

  /StartPage 1

  /SubsetFonts true

  /TransferFunctionInfo /Apply

  /UCRandBGInfo /Preserve

  /UsePrologue false

  /ColorSettingsFile ()

  /AlwaysEmbed [ true

  ]

  /NeverEmbed [ true

  ]

  /AntiAliasColorImages false

  /CropColorImages true

  /ColorImageMinResolution 300

  /ColorImageMinResolutionPolicy /OK

  /DownsampleColorImages true

  /ColorImageDownsampleType /Bicubic

  /ColorImageResolution 300

  /ColorImageDepth -1

  /ColorImageMinDownsampleDepth 1

  /ColorImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000

  /EncodeColorImages true

  /ColorImageFilter /DCTEncode

  /AutoFilterColorImages true

  /ColorImageAutoFilterStrategy /JPEG

  /ColorACSImageDict <<

    /QFactor 0.15

    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]

  >>

  /ColorImageDict <<

    /QFactor 0.15

    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]

  >>

  /JPEG2000ColorACSImageDict <<

    /TileWidth 256

    /TileHeight 256

    /Quality 30

  >>

  /JPEG2000ColorImageDict <<

    /TileWidth 256

    /TileHeight 256

    /Quality 30

  >>

  /AntiAliasGrayImages false

  /CropGrayImages true

  /GrayImageMinResolution 300

  /GrayImageMinResolutionPolicy /OK

  /DownsampleGrayImages true

  /GrayImageDownsampleType /Bicubic

  /GrayImageResolution 300

  /GrayImageDepth -1

  /GrayImageMinDownsampleDepth 2

  /GrayImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000

  /EncodeGrayImages true

  /GrayImageFilter /DCTEncode

  /AutoFilterGrayImages true

  /GrayImageAutoFilterStrategy /JPEG

  /GrayACSImageDict <<

    /QFactor 0.15

    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]

  >>

  /GrayImageDict <<

    /QFactor 0.15

    /HSamples [1 1 1 1] /VSamples [1 1 1 1]

  >>

  /JPEG2000GrayACSImageDict <<

    /TileWidth 256

    /TileHeight 256

    /Quality 30

  >>

  /JPEG2000GrayImageDict <<

    /TileWidth 256

    /TileHeight 256

    /Quality 30

  >>

  /AntiAliasMonoImages false

  /CropMonoImages true

  /MonoImageMinResolution 1200

  /MonoImageMinResolutionPolicy /OK

  /DownsampleMonoImages true

  /MonoImageDownsampleType /Bicubic

  /MonoImageResolution 1200

  /MonoImageDepth -1

  /MonoImageDownsampleThreshold 1.50000

  /EncodeMonoImages true

  /MonoImageFilter /CCITTFaxEncode

  /MonoImageDict <<

    /K -1

  >>

  /AllowPSXObjects false

  /CheckCompliance [

    /None

  ]

  /PDFX1aCheck false

  /PDFX3Check false

  /PDFXCompliantPDFOnly false

  /PDFXNoTrimBoxError true

  /PDFXTrimBoxToMediaBoxOffset [

    0.00000

    0.00000

    0.00000

    0.00000

  ]

  /PDFXSetBleedBoxToMediaBox true

  /PDFXBleedBoxToTrimBoxOffset [

    0.00000

    0.00000

    0.00000

    0.00000

  ]

  /PDFXOutputIntentProfile ()

  /PDFXOutputConditionIdentifier ()

  /PDFXOutputCondition ()

  /PDFXRegistryName ()

  /PDFXTrapped /False



  /CreateJDFFile false

  /Description <<



    /BGR <>

    /CHS <FEFF4f7f75288fd94e9b8bbe5b9a521b5efa7684002000410064006f006200650020005000440046002065876863900275284e8e9ad88d2891cf76845370524d53705237300260a853ef4ee54f7f75280020004100630072006f0062006100740020548c002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e003000204ee553ca66f49ad87248672c676562535f00521b5efa768400200050004400460020658768633002>

    /CHT <FEFF4f7f752890194e9b8a2d7f6e5efa7acb7684002000410064006f006200650020005000440046002065874ef69069752865bc9ad854c18cea76845370524d5370523786557406300260a853ef4ee54f7f75280020004100630072006f0062006100740020548c002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e003000204ee553ca66f49ad87248672c4f86958b555f5df25efa7acb76840020005000440046002065874ef63002>

    /CZE <>

    /DAN <>

    /DEU <>

    /ESP <>

    /ETI <>

    /FRA <>

    /GRE <>



    /HRV (Za stvaranje Adobe PDF dokumenata najpogodnijih za visokokvalitetni ispis prije tiskanja koristite ove postavke.  Stvoreni PDF dokumenti mogu se otvoriti Acrobat i Adobe Reader 5.0 i kasnijim verzijama.)

    /HUN <>

    /ITA <>

    /JPN <FEFF9ad854c18cea306a30d730ea30d730ec30b951fa529b7528002000410064006f0062006500200050004400460020658766f8306e4f5c6210306b4f7f75283057307e305930023053306e8a2d5b9a30674f5c62103055308c305f0020005000440046002030d530a130a430eb306f3001004100630072006f0062006100740020304a30883073002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e003000204ee5964d3067958b304f30533068304c3067304d307e305930023053306e8a2d5b9a306b306f30d530a930f330c8306e57cb30818fbc307f304c5fc59808306730593002>

    /KOR <FEFFc7740020c124c815c7440020c0acc6a9d558c5ec0020ace0d488c9c80020c2dcd5d80020c778c1c4c5d00020ac00c7a50020c801d569d55c002000410064006f0062006500200050004400460020bb38c11cb97c0020c791c131d569b2c8b2e4002e0020c774b807ac8c0020c791c131b41c00200050004400460020bb38c11cb2940020004100630072006f0062006100740020bc0f002000410064006f00620065002000520065006100640065007200200035002e00300020c774c0c1c5d0c11c0020c5f40020c2180020c788c2b5b2c8b2e4002e>

    /LTH <>

    /LVI <>

    /NLD (Gebruik deze instellingen om Adobe PDF-documenten te maken die zijn geoptimaliseerd voor prepress-afdrukken van hoge kwaliteit. De gemaakte PDF-documenten kunnen worden geopend met Acrobat en Adobe Reader 5.0 en hoger.)

    /NOR <>

    /POL <>

    /PTB <>

    /RUM <>

    /RUS <>

    /SKY <>

    /SLV <>

    /SUO <>

    /SVE <>

    /TUR <>

    /UKR <>

    /ENU (Use these settings to create Adobe PDF documents best suited for high-quality prepress printing.  Created PDF documents can be opened with Acrobat and Adobe Reader 5.0 and later.)

  >>

  /Namespace [

    (Adobe)

    (Common)

    (1.0)

  ]

  /OtherNamespaces [

    <<

      /AsReaderSpreads false

      /CropImagesToFrames true

      /ErrorControl /WarnAndContinue

      /FlattenerIgnoreSpreadOverrides false

      /IncludeGuidesGrids false

      /IncludeNonPrinting false

      /IncludeSlug false

      /Namespace [

        (Adobe)

        (InDesign)

        (4.0)

      ]

      /OmitPlacedBitmaps false

      /OmitPlacedEPS false

      /OmitPlacedPDF false

      /SimulateOverprint /Legacy

    >>

    <<

      /AddBleedMarks false

      /AddColorBars false

      /AddCropMarks false

      /AddPageInfo false

      /AddRegMarks false

      /ConvertColors /ConvertToCMYK

      /DestinationProfileName ()

      /DestinationProfileSelector /DocumentCMYK

      /Downsample16BitImages true

      /FlattenerPreset <<

        /PresetSelector /MediumResolution

      >>

      /FormElements false

      /GenerateStructure false

      /IncludeBookmarks false

      /IncludeHyperlinks false

      /IncludeInteractive false

      /IncludeLayers false

      /IncludeProfiles false

      /MultimediaHandling /UseObjectSettings

      /Namespace [

        (Adobe)

        (CreativeSuite)

        (2.0)

      ]

      /PDFXOutputIntentProfileSelector /DocumentCMYK

      /PreserveEditing true

      /UntaggedCMYKHandling /LeaveUntagged

      /UntaggedRGBHandling /UseDocumentProfile

      /UseDocumentBleed false

    >>

  ]

>> setdistillerparams

<<

  /HWResolution [2400 2400]

  /PageSize [612.000 792.000]

>> setpagedevice



