

Fact Sheet

Traveling Requirements for Adult and Juvenile Registered Sex or Kidnapping Offenders

Traveling outside of the United States.

Any person required to register pursuant to <u>RCW</u> 9A.44.130 who intends to travel outside of the United States must provide, by certified mail, with return receipt requested, or in person, signed written notice of the plan to travel outside of the country to the country sheriff of the country with whom the person is registered at least 21 days prior to travel. This is also required by Federal law.

What does the notice of travel outside of the United States need to include?

This fact sheet is intended to summarize relevant laws related to Sex and Kidnapping offenders for general understanding. It is not intended to comprehensively re-state all the duties required of an offender for compliance with the law. While we make every attempt to keep these documents up to date, please consult an attorney for the most accurate information.

- Name
- Passport number and country
- Destinations
- Itinerary details (when available) including the name of the airport/train station/port, the light/train/ship number, the time of departure, the time of arrival, and information about any regarding intermediate stops¹.
- Means of travel (air, train, ship)
- Purpose of travel (business, military, relocation, vacation, deportation, etc.)
- Contact information within the destination country

The federal government may impose additional restrictions on passport renewals.

What if the person cancels or postpones their travel outside of the United States?

The offender must notify the county sheriff not later than three days after cancellation or postponement of the intended travel outside of the United States or the departure date, whichever is earlier.

What if an offender needs to travel due to unexpected family or work emergencies?

Notice must be submitted in person at least 24 hours prior to travel to the sheriff of the county in which the offender is registered. The offender must provide a written explanation of the circumstances which make compliance with regular travel requirements impracticable.

¹ http://www.smart.gov/international travel.htm

Will a registered sex or kidnapping offender be admitted by another country?

Both Mexico and Canada have policies that exclude almost all registered sex and kidnapping offenders in addition to many other criminal convictions. Every country has the right to admit or exclude whoever they want, and persons convicted of sex or kidnapping offenses may face serious obstacles to travel abroad. Compliance with these rules does not guarantee that another country will accept a registered sex or kidnapping offender when they arrive in that country. A registered sex or kidnapping offender who is on supervision by a corrections department must also be sure they have permission from that agency before they plan any travel.

What kind of notice is required to work, carry on a vocation or attend school in another state?

Offenders who are required to register within Washington state but intend to work, carry on a vocation or attend school in another state shall register a new address, fingerprints and photograph with the new state within three business days. The offender must also send written notice to the county sheriff with whom they last registered in Washington state within three business days of moving to the new state.

What are the Requirements for Domestic Travel Outside of Washington?

A registered sex or kidnapping offender who travels to another state or territory of the United States must comply with the registration laws of the state(s) that are visited. Every state has their own laws, and they vary greatly. In some states you are required to register within 24 hours of arrival, and the failure to do so could result in a serious criminal charge. In other states the rules do not require registration unless you intend to move to that state or spend a significant period of time there. Whenever you travel out of state it is important to learn the requirements of the states that will be visited and to be sure that the local laws are followed.

What are the Requirements for Registered Sex Offenders from Other Jurisdictions who travel to Washington?

Registered sex or kidnapping offenders from other states and jurisdictions who visit Washington for more than 10 days are required to register with the sheriff in the county(s) they visit. The failure to do so could result in serious criminal charges being filed for Failure to Register.